Why is overclock limite 1.35ghz for the nexus?

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Nexus' started by Vistro, Feb 4, 2012.

  1. Vistro

    Vistro New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wherever the **** i want to be
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can someone explain the reason behind overclock limit at 1.35 ghz?
     
  2. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,043
    Likes Received:
    1,474
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,634
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    Because that's as far as you can push the cpu in terms of stability. Anything over that I heard it gets all wonky
     
  3. Liderc

    Liderc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,269
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +45
    I haven't delved into OC'ing my Nexus but from what I've read it seems you can't set the CPU to 1.5 because the MDU DPLL must be set at double the desired speed.

    Aka 2Ghz for a desired 1Ghz or 2.4GHz for the stock 1.2GHz.

    Now apparently when the DMU DPLL is set to 3Ghz to achieve 1.5 that's when people are running into problems.

    Having said that, people have jumped past 1.5 onto 1.6 and seen some decent stability, but there appears to be a bug that prevents the CPU from running stable at 1.5, which is strange considering the 4460 is supposed to be stock 1.5.

    I used to overclock with EVGA's team and a lot of times we would find that certain versions of CPU's wouldn't run at certain speeds no matter how much we adjusted the voltages/settings. But if we bumped the clock up even a few Mhz higher, it would run fine. So sometimes I don't know that there are actual answers to why you can't reach a certain speed, but I know it's happened to us on dual and quad core overclock tests.

    Give it some time, I think you'll see some kernels running at 1.6+, but for now until they find out why 1.5 isn't working I think there are a couple kernels for 1.4GHz.

    Here's one for 1.4: [DEVS/KERNEL] Galaxy Nexus 1.4GHz overclock + Undervolting patches - xda-developers
     
  4. wolstonc

    wolstonc Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    I can't even bring myself to over clock my 1.4ghz quad core laptop that has cores designed for 2.3 ghz because every time I search for instructions, it's people saying not to do it on a laptop because it doesn't have as much of a cooling system as a PC. And here you guys are overclocking a phone that runs hot stock... in a method that voids the warranty. I don't know how you do it.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  5. Creed

    Creed Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can now actually get to 1.6GHz using Glados 1.9 and liveOC. :) Check it out! (Technically it is 1.59 something...)

    [KERNEL][03 FEB] GLaDOS V1.9 - RootzWiki



     
  6. tgyberg

    tgyberg Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,942
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +323
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6, 7, & 9
Search tags for this page

cant overclock my phone past 1.35 why

,

galaxy nexus 1.35 1.5

,

galaxy nexus kernel overclock

,

galaxy s4 verizon shows clock speed at 1.35ghz

,

nexus 4 1.5 vs nexus 4 1.9 overclock

,

nexus overclock settings

,

overclock galaxy nexus to 1.35

,

overclock nexus one

,

overclock+roms+for+verizon+galaxy+nexus+4g lte