Why is it?

Discussion in 'Sourcery ROM' started by nornevrder, Jan 6, 2011.

  1. nornevrder
    Offline

    nornevrder Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Alaska
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why is it that my 3g is screwing up on me? Last night it was terribly slow with 2 bars then went off and didn't come back till I did a battery pull. Phone signal also was really bad. Typically in my room I have had no problems. This morning I woke up and I had no internet. I went down to the chow hall where I always get 3g with no problems and still nothing. My buddy came down and at next to me with his desire which has the same carrieras I do and had full 3g. I did a batt pull left it out for about 30-40 sec and I am good to go typing on tshe forum. Any suggestions fixes or anything that could help me out would be great. (I had to do 2 battle pulls out in the field yesterday for this reason while everyone else had 3g)

    Sent from my Sourcery using DroidForums App
     
  2. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +35
    Have you tried a different kernel?

    DroidForums Junkie!!
     
  3. nornevrder
    Offline

    nornevrder Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Alaska
    Ratings:
    +0
    One more thing I was running ud 2.5 cause sour 1.1 would be so hit and miss with the 3g. I never ran into this problem when I was running ud.

    Sent from my Sourcery using DroidForums App
     
  4. nornevrder
    Offline

    nornevrder Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Alaska
    Ratings:
    +0
    Been running the same kernel as I was w ud. Lv slayer 1.1

    Sent from my Sourcery using DroidForums App
     
  5. PARick
    Offline

    PARick Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    FWIW my 3G has actually been way better with this ROM than UD. But so has everything else! I agree, I would play with a different kernel. I use Slayer as well, but some just don't play as nice as others.
     
  6. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +35
    That kernel may not be playing well with that ROM and your phone. I'd try making a backup and reflashing Sorcery (without wiping) which should put the kernel they included back. See if that helps.

    DroidForums Junkie!!
     
  7. dmacleo
    Offline

    dmacleo Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Etna,ME
    Ratings:
    +0
    dial *22890 and see if helps.
     
  8. nornevrder
    Offline

    nornevrder Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Alaska
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah think I am going to mess with some other kernels and see what happens. As far as the 228# I am not Verizon I am with a company in Alaska called acs. Would me calling my company and them doing the walk trough and doing what they do which I think sends a signal to my phone effect anything that has to do with my rom?

    Sent from my Sourcery using DroidForums App
     
  9. joeshell20
    Offline

    joeshell20 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have this same problem with my dx. The only thing is I have a totally stock system. I think it maybe a tower issue, because big red sent me a replacement and it has the same issue.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  10. dmacleo
    Offline

    dmacleo Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Etna,ME
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't think updating towers (*22890) would hurt it but can't say for sure in your situation.
    as far as buddy with good signals...well that is a different phone with different antenna.