why I can't update software

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S4' started by KyuQ, Jul 8, 2013.

  1. KyuQ
    Offline

    KyuQ New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    I didn't root my s4

    why I still can't update software?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. GoCliffGo05
    Offline

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,854
    Likes Received:
    334
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +334
    Have you disabled any applications or changed anything at all?

    Sent from my XT926 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
     
  3. KyuQ
    Offline

    KyuQ New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    i changed icons and enabled unknown source. only these, i didn't change anything else
     
  4. GVLBob
    Offline

    GVLBob Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    Ratings:
    +16
    My phone currently shows "No new software update available" when I check. Perhaps this is just your phones way of saying the software is up to date and thus there aren't any problems with your phone.
     
  5. KyuQ
    Offline

    KyuQ New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    but last time when I checked, it also showed "no new software..." T_T
     
  6. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,564
    Likes Received:
    307
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +321
    Have you tried turning off Advanced Task Killer and seeing if you get a different message? Maybe it is auto-killing something you need, might be best to uninstall that all together.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. GoCliffGo05
    Offline

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,854
    Likes Received:
    334
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +334
    Can't hurt to uncheck unknown sources too just to see.

    Sent from my XT926 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
     
  8. KyuQ
    Offline

    KyuQ New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    i just uninstalled Advanced Task Killer but it didn't change anything. still shows "device has been modified" :'(
     
  9. KyuQ
    Offline

    KyuQ New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1

    yes, I unchecked it, but still can't update.
     
  10. GVLBob
    Offline

    GVLBob Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    Ratings:
    +16
    Why do you think there is an update for the software?
     
  11. bweN diorD
    Offline

    bweN diorD Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +74
    Current Phone Model:
    G2
    just a random question since you have an s4, the font in the op's pic, is that what it looks like stock?
    just curious, thanks
     
  12. KyuQ
    Offline

    KyuQ New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    i'm not sure if there is an update, so i want to check it. but in this situation, it even not allow me to check new update. because if there is no update at all, it should be shown as "no new update" so I'm thinking maybe there is any wrong with my device.
     
  13. KyuQ
    Offline

    KyuQ New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    I changed font style. you also can change it by downloading fonts.
    after you downloaded fonts from play store, go to setting→my device→display→font→font style
     
  14. bweN diorD
    Offline

    bweN diorD Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +74
    Current Phone Model:
    G2
    thanks, i didnt know that :)
     
  15. bweN diorD
    Offline

    bweN diorD Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +74
    Current Phone Model:
    G2
    in my opinion, if it says you modified your phone and you didnt, thats a problem.
    the lack of update is more of a minor issue, if you have to take it in for service and they think its been modified, that could be more serious when they deny you warranty repair.

    just a thought.
     
Search tags for this page
cant update my s4
,
galaxy s4 device has been modified cannot update
,

galaxy s4 your device has been modified

,
problem with samsung s4 software updated cant be downloaded
,
s4 modified can't update
,
samsung galaxy s4 cant update because software has been chan
,
software update on s4 cant be downloaded says its modified
,
why can't i update the software on my s4
,
why my replacement galaxy s4 cant be updated
,

your device has been modified software updates are not avail