why havent verizon or htc fixed it yet?

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by mtnbkrbob, May 18, 2011.

  1. mtnbkrbob

    mtnbkrbob Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    dansville michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    so can anyone explain why Verizon or HTC or google for that matter hasnt fixed the poor GPS location yet. or was it that they had a device that they werent to concerned about putting out and they just released it to grab market share and make money? or is it that not enough people complained about it yet?
    because it seems that verizon is billing the droid charge as their first 4g lte device when we all know that the htc droid thunderbolt was verizons first 4g lte device. it just seems odd to me that all these android based phones being pumped out one after another that they are getting deminished in quality and the droid thunderbolt was the first one of the bunchthat was dropped on comsumers with known issues. i undestand i didnt have to purchase the thunderbolt but i thought it was gonna be a lot better than than my og moto droid but honestly my og droid could tell me my location within a few feet and give me proper directions when i needed them.....

    sorry to just rant and go off but i feel we were all taken with the corporate hype about the thunderbolt. because all i wanted was for it to work the way they said it would work.

    in other words stop putting out updates that dont fix the fn problem with the device!

    my two cents

    bob
     
  2. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,262
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    Not everyone is having gps issues, Mine locks almost instantly...And nothing happens overnight with VZW
     
  3. badmeat

    badmeat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    IMO, I think VZW is taking their time because they want users to purchase VZ Navigator....
     
  4. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    19,989
    Likes Received:
    2,470
    Trophy Points:
    1,078
    Ratings:
    +2,663
    Actually the droid charge is there first "droid" 4g device. The thunderbolt don't have the droid label.

    sent from droidforums app
     
  5. mtnbkrbob

    mtnbkrbob Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    dansville michigan
    Ratings:
    +0

    you are correct my mistake. but my gps still doesnt show my current location correctly.
     
  6. badmeat

    badmeat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine is fixed now since the update.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  7. MrKleen

    MrKleen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +5
    My gps and navigation work flawlessly now. I use it every day.
     
  8. y0manda

    y0manda Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I didn't know there was a droid thunderbolt.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  9. yakitori

    yakitori Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    Ratings:
    +10
    recent update fixed GPS, but brought along random reboots in the process. VZW knows about it and pulled the update off the site and off the air.

    You will have to wait for the next OTA update after HTC fixes the reboot issue. my GPS locks on pretty quickly. Faster than my OG droid ever did. Too bad its rebooted on me 2 times today.

    The recent update was pushed not even 5-6 days ago. Give at least a little time. To my knowledge, HTC is in Taiwan...so from a business standpoint....it hasnt been that long. Im pretty sure it goes something like this.

    OTA push (few days)....customer complaints of reboots, etc come pouring in...VZW corporate calls meetings....vzw corporate contacts HTC corporate (14 hour time zone difference), HTC corp calls meetings....priority level for this update set (depends on how much money vzw is paying htc).....htc devs develop a fix....test the fix...give fix to vzw....vzw tests fix....ota push is created.....ota starts pushing out.


    All of this isnt going to happen in a work week.

    meanwhile, customers complain, vzw/htc reputation takes a whack....everyone suffers.


    Honestly all of this couldve been avoided using simple methodology....extensive R&D testing on htc/vzw part. Instead they release a phone likely fully aware of bugs, and make their customers deal with the anticipation of updates. This is what I call a company with poor quality assurance department...and a sales department with too much authority.


    Its starting to get more and more difficult to justify my purchase. In fact, being the consumer i usually am, I wouldve returned the phone in my 14 day period, get my og droid back, wait for my plan to expire....and leave vzw altogether taking my business to a provider that doesnt do this. Instead...I will wait till day 13 of my 14 day period....THEN...ill return the phone if fixes have not surfaced.
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2011
  10. Larry_ThaGr81

    Larry_ThaGr81 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Hesperia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Assuming that you are being sarcastic. The Thunderbolt isn't a droid series phone at all.
     
  11. Larry_ThaGr81

    Larry_ThaGr81 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Hesperia
    Ratings:
    +0
    I haven't seen much improvement indoors with my GPS. Yes I'm aware that I'm suppose to have open skies. However, my Droid can lock on to my signal anywhere inside my house as long as I'm not completely surrounded on all sides by a wall in close proximity, like the closet, bathroom, etc. It's always worked pretty well outdoors, but even then it still wasn't nearly as fast as my Droid for locking on to my signal. Nevertheless I'm not complaining about it because it offers so many other great features.
     
  12. illmatic636

    illmatic636 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +2
    We get it, George Lucas doesn't get any $$ on the TB.
    What is the deal with the random reboots. Are you guys seeing this a lot?
     
  13. Larry_ThaGr81

    Larry_ThaGr81 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Hesperia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Touchwiz is laughable, I wouldn't even mention that as a benefit, but I understand that you are just pointing out the things that it has that the Thunderbolt doesn't.
     
  14. Larry_ThaGr81

    Larry_ThaGr81 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Hesperia
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think I may have seen one since the update, which I did on the latest release date, but I was too far from my phone to know what was going on other than seing the HTC green logo on a white background.
     
  15. borq646

    borq646 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    Install GPS Status from the market, then: Menu -> Tools -> Manage AGPS -> Reset Menu -> Tools -> Manage AGPS -> Download


    Enjoy GPS.