Why does my D2 keep powering itself down?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by Bigg5Deuce, Nov 30, 2010.

  1. Bigg5Deuce

    Bigg5Deuce New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tried searching for this topic already, so sorry if it has previously been addressed:

    My D2 powers itself down at least once, sometimes twice, a day. Different times every day, and I have yet to notice any pattern as to what apps are running when it happens. I'm not rooted and am running Launcher Pro. Is this just something that happens with the D2, or is there something wrong with my phone?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  2. elcompaLalo

    elcompaLalo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SinCity
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think it might just happen to be your phone, my D2 would shut off sometimes.....but that was because I was trying to find the overclocking sweetspot. Since your not rooted I would just have VZW take a look at it, maybe even replace it.

    Directly from a D2
     
  3. MotoDroid

    MotoDroid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm on my second D2 for the same issue :(
     
  4. markml0528

    markml0528 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +0
    R the four touch buttons on the bottom of the display remaining lit up?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  5. Bigg5Deuce

    Bigg5Deuce New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, sometimes they are.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  6. Khyren

    Khyren New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Gastonia, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine has done this more than once now. All 4 buttons were lit and then it was off while I was trying to do something. Had to power it back up.
     
  7. markml0528

    markml0528 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +0
    My phone has this same problem. almost everytime I hit the lock button, the four touch buttons remain lit and my phone freezes. Sometimes it reboots the phone, sometimes it goes back to normal. Its very annoying. Its been doing this since the 2.3.20 firmware update.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  8. sonny3

    sonny3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I currently also have Launcher Pro running on my D2.
    I have the same problem, I also realized that if you hit the standby button quickly twice, the phone will do this shut down.
    Try that when you're not using your phone and see if the shut down is similar on your phone.
     
  9. markn455

    markn455 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ball Ground, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    My phone does this to. However, it is not actually powering off. The screen goes dark and locks. You have to hit the power button and unlock the phone. I can make the same thing happen by single tapping the status bar at the time.

    I am thinking this is a feature rather than making you press the power button. You can simply tap the status bar at the top and it will make the screen turn off and lock the phone.
     
  10. markn455

    markn455 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ball Ground, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have just discovered that this happens on my Droid 2 Global and NOT my Droid one.
     
  11. bdogprez

    bdogprez New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm having this problem as well - it's sporadic. Sometimes doesn't happen for days, sometimes happens 4-5 times in a row. Has anyone talked to Verizon/Motorola about this?
     
  12. slowtype

    slowtype Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Mine was doing this. Its a faulty phone. Get a warranty replacement. I'm on my third phone, the build quality is questionable. First one locked up like yours. Second one the screen stopped working.
     
  13. bdogprez

    bdogprez New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks. Verizon techs seem to think it's the battery (it periodically drains very quickly as well) and are sending me a new one. We'll see. I suspect that you're right and the phone is defective.
     
  14. Tillyswilly

    Tillyswilly Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,060
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Bham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea I would go with a bad phone b4 the battery if its cutting off b4 the batt goes dead

    Tapping To Talk
     
  15. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Everyone with this issue.

    The D2 doesn't reboot unless something is wrong. Usually it's an app causing the issue.

    If you are using a task killer or an antivirus remove it. If you still have an issue then a Factory Data Reset is in order. That's done from the Privacy section in your settings.

    If that doesn't resolve the issue, you've got a bad Droid. Get another one.
     
Search tags for this page
d2 713g shuts down after
,
d2 7621 keeps shutting down
,
diablo 2 keeps shutting itself
,
droid bionic keeps powering down every 20 seconds
,
droid keeps powering down when i push screen lock button
,
motorola 2 keeps shutting off
,

motorola citrus keeps turning off

,
why does my android d2 keep turning off
,
why does my droid x2 keep shutting off
,
why does my droid x2 keep turning off