Why do rom make the phone loose flash for carrier?

Discussion in 'Droid X Roms' started by rcjames, Jun 18, 2011.

  1. rcjames

    rcjames Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why do rom make the phone loose flash for carrier? What other way would loose flash?
     
  2. MiggyxFresh

    MiggyxFresh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm flash player ?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  3. rcjames

    rcjames Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Flash for carrier read it again.
     
    #3 rcjames, Jun 18, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2011
  4. Snow02

    Snow02 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +9
    Nah, your post was pretty unintelligible.

    If you would list some details for your specific issue, that would help get your question answered.
     
  5. rcjames

    rcjames Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dude you're ruining my post. Wtf is you're problem????
     
  6. rcjames

    rcjames Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    First of all I said flash for carrier. Like boost mobile, cricket, and so on. Phones can loose flash for carrier by flashing rom and such but why? I want technical information.
     
  7. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,339
    Likes Received:
    1,678
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,821
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    Flashing a ROM shouldn't change any of that. ROMs don't change the basebands, PRLs or any of that. I've heard of many people who've flashed to a different carrier and still run custom ROMs. The carrier information is not/should not be affected by the ROM.

    sent from somewhere...
     
  8. HarvesterX™

    HarvesterX™ Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Ratings:
    +9
    If you (or somebody with access to your phone) accessed the Programming menu then they could have messed with your settings. To get on and check it out for yourself,

    Open up the dialer and dial ##PROGRAM, then click dial. A prompt will appear asking for your password, then enter in all zeroes for it, or 000000.

    If you plan on making any changes at all, it would be in your best interest to create a handwritten backup of any values you plan on changing. I say that because I "think" this stuff isn't stored in the /system or /data partitions so a Nandroid restore won't be of any use if you muck something up.

    I say that because last summer I made a small tweak, and I can wipe everything possible from within Clockwork, RZR (current recovery), and SPR and the change I made is still there.

    But I guess the question from me is, what led you to believe that installing a ROM would change any of these settings? Are you wanting to flash to a different carrier or did a ROM you installed somehow change these settings on you?

    Oh, I just realized I am in the Droid X section. The above steps for getting into the Programminh menu should still work though...I don't see why they wouldn't. But if not, I wrote this with the original Droid in mind.
     
  9. rcjames

    rcjames Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guys at cricket store that flash phones told me not to modified my droid x. So maybe he isn't to experienced about these type of things. I don't know. So data wipe would it effect it? Yea they told me, themes, rom will erase the flash.
     
  10. rcjames

    rcjames Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I hope not. But thank you.
     
  11. kbatrph

    kbatrph Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    watch the Lord's name in vain buttmunch....and maybe you should proofread what you post on here so you don't sound like an idiot....or an illiterate, or both
     
  12. rcjames

    rcjames Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    nevermind blah
     
    #12 rcjames, Jun 19, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2011
Search tags for this page
can i undo a carrier flash
,

custom rom on flashed phone

,
do custom roms affect carrier service
,
does custom rom flash my boost mobile to cricket
,
flashing rom android lose carrier settings
,
if i flash cyanogem mod on my razr xt912 will i lose my flash
,
install a rom from different carrier
,
will changing rom ruin flashed phone
,

will i loose carrier flash when changing roms

,
will i lose my flash if i install a new rom metro