Why do all Roms get slow?

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by mcniglet, Jan 23, 2011.

  1. mcniglet

    mcniglet New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Every single rom I have tried start off great but get slow and laggy after several days. What causes this?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  2. rfranken

    rfranken Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Liberty has been getting faster for me.
     
  3. skippythegoat

    skippythegoat New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's a great question, I too would like an answer. I think this is the reason that I keep switching roms.

    I'd really like to find a way to reverse this process besides reinstalling a rom.
     
  4. estafusisx

    estafusisx Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I bet its like a placebo effect thing

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  5. huskerkate

    huskerkate Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,650
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Ratings:
    +10
    you should clean out your cache on a regular basis. there are several cache cleaners in the market - i use Cache Cleaner NG, and have it set to clean my internal and sdcard cache every couple of days.

    also, you should periodically clean your Dalvik cache. you can do this in CWM recovery, or with Titanium Backup - menu/more/clean up Dalvik cache. also, some roms have this built in as a menu feature.

    doing these two things will help noticeably with lag issues.
     
  6. tktouch12

    tktouch12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    no, its definitely a real thing. think about flashing to a fresh rom or to a backup. the fresh rom will be fast, the backup will be laggy.

    its really annoying and i dont understand why it should happen. (this single factor is 50% of the reason i want to switch to iphone)
    does the memory just get messed up?

    on my incredible there is one rom that doesnt slow down, but almost all the other ones do
     
  7. Stelv

    Stelv Silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Western NY
    Ratings:
    +8
    My Roms never get laggy. Do what Kate says above it works.

    sent from my rooted nook color
     
  8. CxUNG

    CxUNG Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know its a noobie question but im wondering what a cache is? Is it like memory kept in on your fone?



    Sent from DROiDx using DROiDforumsAPP
     
  9. Stelv

    Stelv Silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Western NY
    Ratings:
    +8
    Correct me if I am wrong guys...cache is stored data that improves the ability to multitask. Ram utilizes cache to quickly acess stored data. It is meant to improve performance so things do not have to reload over again, but it can also bog a system down if there is too much.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  10. mcniglet

    mcniglet New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My roms continue to all do same thing. If I go into market for example then hit home adwex shows + symbols instead of icons and takes forever to load icons on screen and my beautiful widget loads last maybe up to 5 secs later...

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  11. Stelv

    Stelv Silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Western NY
    Ratings:
    +8
    You are getting screen redraws. That is not rom lag. You need to use a rom with the samsonite redraw fix built in or you need to type the fix into terminal emulator. That is a google os problem i believe not exactly a rom problem.

    sent from my rooted nook color
     
  12. huskerkate

    huskerkate Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,650
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Ratings:
    +10
    Stelv is correct. here is samsonite801's lag/redraw fix:

    If you use ADW or LauncherPro and if after using your browser, email or any other apps for awhile, then if you press the 'HOME' button, if it takes forever to redraw your home screen, and you are sick of that HORRIBLE LAG, then try this: In a terminal, type su and enter. Then type echo ro.HOME_APP_ADJ=1 >> /data/local.prop and enter. Then reboot. Now evaluate whether or not this fixes your lag. If you want to undo what this command does, simply remove that toggle from: /data/local.prop

    To remove the toggle: In Root Explorer, go to /data/, tap Mount R/W at the top, then long-press on local.prop and Open in Text Editor, then delete the line: ro.HOME_APP_ADJ=1.
     
  13. mcniglet

    mcniglet New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ahhhh. Thanks guys. Yeah this was driving me crazy. :-D

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  14. jeffv2

    jeffv2 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    south jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    clear cache, just download cache cleaner. & another way to make your phone fast is to make sure you're not using a task killer or anti-virus program they're the worst app on the market that almost everyone has installed, i wish Verizon wouldn't tell people to install it....
     
  15. Stelv

    Stelv Silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Western NY
    Ratings:
    +8
    +1 to what Jeff said.

    sent from my rooted nook color
     
Search tags for this page
android cache cleaning slow
,

android cache slow

,
android slow dalvik cache
,
does the s4 get slower over time
,
is android cache cleaning necessary
,
roms laggy
,
why do android custom roms get slow after a few days
,
why do androids get slower over time
,
why do roms slow down over time
,

why does android get slower