why did you root your droid?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by New Kid, Jan 4, 2010.

  1. New Kid

    New Kid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    please post the reasons you decided to root your droid
     
  2. RAWR IM A DROID RAWR

    Ratings:
    +0
    To put the 2.1 rom on. But I ended up switching back to 2.0.1 but it's still rooted so :dunno:
     
  3. taypotts

    taypotts Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I could:

    -use 2.1 (went back)
    -take a screenshot
    -clear my cache
    -change my boot animation without having to use command prompts
    -to explore my phone completely
     
  4. crdnilfan

    crdnilfan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Terminal emulator...thats the only reason. Unix is beautiful, I enjoy playing with it.
     
  5. Big Lou

    Big Lou Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Because I can. I never found a "true" reason to do so until the WiFi tether app came out--I used that quite a bit on my road trip. I've always like to hack things and use them beyond their intention. I've always been curious, and I guess rooting goes along with that.
     
  6. wuyanks

    wuyanks DF News Team
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +1
    -installing a custom recovery image and the 2.1 ROM (HC .79)

    and what biglou said, i have great interest in pushing my electronics to the max, i mean why not? you own it, you should have full control of it IMHO
     
  7. pcandroid

    pcandroid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    to get 2.1 and wifi tether
     
  8. mammlouk

    mammlouk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did it for the same reason I've been running Linux as my primary operating system for the last 6 years. Freedom to use hardware I paid for in any manner I deem fit.
     
  9. Harrybub

    Harrybub Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Because I can.


    HB
     
  10. zerosignal0

    zerosignal0 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    How am I supposed to be "teh 1337" if I don't have root access?!? :icon_ banana:
     
  11. NoKz

    NoKz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Because all the cool kids are doing it! :icon_ banana:
     
  12. droid d'oh

    droid d'oh Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    duhn duhn duhn...... for all you iphone/ipod touch fans

    [​IMG]

    ffffffuhhhhhkuhhh Steve Jobs
     
Search tags for this page

reasons to root a droid