Why can't I theme the progress bar!?

Discussion in 'Android Themes' started by czerdrill, Jan 17, 2011.

  1. czerdrill

    czerdrill Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +12
    Been trying everything but just keep getting errors. I'm trying to theme the progress bar. I'm opening res>drawable>progress_horizontal.xml after decompiling. I then change the last six values to the colors of my choice and decompile. All seems to work fine

    When I flash however, the progress bar instead becomes my spinner from the framework and just spins...another time i tried it i just kept getting force closes...any help??
     
  2. B-boy™

    B-boy™ Team B-boy™/Jedi Counsel Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,893
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    central Az
    Ratings:
    +7
    What ROM and are you deleting it from the keep folder after it compiles back up?
     
  3. thebowers

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hex edit it instead.
     
  4. B-boy™

    B-boy™ Team B-boy™/Jedi Counsel Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,893
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    central Az
    Ratings:
    +7

    WOW.... Good to hear from ya man!!!!!...
     
  5. CorCor67

    CorCor67 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Can you post your decompiled & edited xml?
     
  6. czerdrill

    czerdrill Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +12
    Hi guys, sorry for the lack of response and thanks for your suggestions. The reason i was getting errors was because i was using the linux version of apk manager and its just outdated and full of bugs. once i used the windows version i was able to theme the progress bar with no problem...thanks to esotericchaos and bp328i for pointing it out for me :)
     
  7. CorCor67

    CorCor67 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I use ubuntu 10.10 and have themed it using apkmanager to decompile many times...never had an issue. But that doesn't really matter, you got it to work so congrats!
     
  8. czerdrill

    czerdrill Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +12
    Really? very weird...that's what i use as well (hate windows) and couldn't get past the errors...something about public.xml not being defined or something...didn't get any errors like that in the windows version...
     
  9. CorCor67

    CorCor67 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Was it a whole bunch of image names with the xml errors?
     
  10. czerdrill

    czerdrill Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +12
    no it seemed like it was pointing to xml files and saying the resource named here is not defined or something...i dont remember exactly though...i thought it was something with the 9.pngs so i replaced them with stock but the same deal...

    in the windows version i didn't do anything to the 9.pngs and had no errors..

    whats the latest linux version? maybe i'm just using an outdated one..?
     
  11. CorCor67

    CorCor67 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    4.3 is what I use...and ya to prevent the error decompile the apk before making your .9 edits...edit them while decompiled, then compile...maybe you missed a .9?...that or a typo in xml...hard to say without seeing the error
     
  12. czerdrill

    czerdrill Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +12
    that's the version i use too...the funny thing is if i decompile it does so without any errors, but then if i try to recompile without making any changes at all it errors out.

    on the windows version if i decompile and then recompile without changing anything it works fine...here is the error by the way...there are a ton just like these:


    /home/Desktop/apk_manager/other/../out/res/values/public.xml:2054: error: Public symbol string/permlab_readSyncSettings declared here is not defined.
    /home/Desktop/apk_manager/other/../out/res/values/public.xml:2058: error: Public symbol string/permlab_readSyncStats declared here is not defined.
    /home/Desktop/apk_manager/other/../out/res/values/public.xml:1962: error: Public symbol string/permlab_reboot declared here is not defined.
    /home/Desktop/apk_manager/other/../out/res/values/public.xml:1928: error: Public symbol string/permlab_receiveBootCompleted declared here is not defined.
    /home/Desktop/apk_manager/other/../out/res/values/public.xml:1828: error: Public symbol string/permlab_receiveMms declared here is not defined.
    /home/Desktop/apk_manager/other/../out/res/values/public.xml:1826: error: Public symbol string/permlab_receiveSms declared here is not defined

    This is without changing anything. Just decompiling and immediately recompiling...and it's UD 3.0. Again, it works fine on the windows version...

    If you could figure out what's going on it would be great. I've got windows running on a VM just for this, and would rather not ever have to use windows again haha
     
  13. CorCor67

    CorCor67 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Ya it looks like .9 problem...ud has edited .9s in there alredy...to get it to work right take a stock framework like sapphire, copy all the .9s from sapphire and put them into uds framework...then decompile the modified ud framework
     
  14. czerdrill

    czerdrill Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +12
    I think i tried that already but I may have missed a .9 like you said. I'll try again..but any reason why it would work in windows without doing all that and not in linux?
     
  15. CorCor67

    CorCor67 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Not sure, its been ages since I've used windows version of apkmanager...and my processor gave out on me last week so I can't even try to re-create the issue myself