1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Why can't I restore a backup?

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Tech Support' started by Zane_Grey, Jan 10, 2012.

  1. Zane_Grey
    Offline

    Zane_Grey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I finally decided to try out a ROM. I made a backup using Rom Manager. Then used Rom Manager to install the Rom. I wiped everything, but forgot to put the Rom on the external sdcard so it failed. I decided to just restore my backup, which seemed like it worked fine until I got:

    Invalid Flash Mode (S) (Boot Failure)
    0A.61

    Battery OK
    OK to Program
    Transfer Mode:
    USB COnnected

    Invalid CG OTV (CG: webtop): Invalid SP Data
    Invalid CG HAB (CG: webtop, status: 0x004E)
    Invalid CG OTV (CG: webtop)

    I know how to unbrick my phone. The question is why did restoring a backup brick my phone? I am on 5.9.901. This really makes me miss my D1, things were so easy then. I used to flash things and restore all the time.
  2. Rodimus4180
    Offline

    Rodimus4180 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Prescott, AZ
    Is the backup pre 901? I know trying to do a android restore pre 901 is incompatible due to all the things 901 patches. Otherwise im at a loss

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC
  3. Zane_Grey
    Offline

    Zane_Grey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It was a 901 backup. I wish moto would just unlock this phone so we can flash a custom recovery.

    Edit: I tried again and got it to work. I think it was because I used bionic bootstrap to create the backup then used an different bootstrap to try and restore. Such a long process to get to that "AH HA" moment.
  4. Rodimus4180
    Offline

    Rodimus4180 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Prescott, AZ
    Good news, I agree about the bootloader. I had had tge OG DROID before the Bionic so honestly I'm a little intimidated by the bootloader since it makes so easy to soft-brick the phone, its easy enough to get back, but such a rodonkulously long process.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC
  5. Concistency
    Offline

    Concistency New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    St. Louis
    For future reference, I wouldn't recommend creating backups and flashing in rommanager. I would do it via the recovery menu (safestrap or regular) just to be on the safe side.
  6. rapatrax
    Offline

    rapatrax New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I bricked my razr xt910

    I'm in this situation,
    How can I unbrick my phone?
    Paolo
Search tags for this page

titanium backups invalid cannot restore

,

webtop android restore