Why cant i get the SDK to run on my pc?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by biggestmexi, Dec 6, 2009.

  1. biggestmexi

    biggestmexi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I installed it ran i, go everything it needed.

    Now it wont open at all!

    I followed a how-to. a couple of them.

    It wont work at ALL!!!

    all i want to do is, is grab some screen shops.

    anytime i open something it just pops up the cmd window then closes.
    :mad:
     
  2. Harrison_W1337

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Redownload, click "SDK Setup," it might take a second for a window titled "Android SDK and AVD Manager," to open. If you have several applications open it might not pop-up on top of your current active window. A window will ask you which packages to install, click "Cancel." Then on the left hand side of the window you will see several items listed click "Settings." Then under "Misc," click "Force https:// ... sources to be fetched using http:// ..." Then go back up to "Installed Packages." Click "Update All." Then click the packages you want, and then click "Install Accepted."


    That worked for me when I had that problem. I assume if the SDK isnt configured correctly the first time it runs then it wont work properly.
     
  3. biggestmexi

    biggestmexi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah, i tried doing that once already but I cant find anywhere to "uninstall" it.

    So when i got it the first time i ran through the set up and DL'ed everything it wanted me to and forced the http thing and nothing. So i deleted it all, re dl'ed and tried to redo all of that but the setup wont even pop up anymore.

    I wish google had a better forum for this.
     
  4. JayMonster

    JayMonster Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
  5. silverx10

    silverx10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    There is no official "install" or "uninstall" methods to the SDK. You just download Eclipse, the JDK, and the Android SDK, and follow the instructions on the site.

    's pretty simple stuff, really.
     
  6. Gunde

    Gunde New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If the emulator doesn't start properly, it could be because the Android-SDK isn't in the system path, try adding it and then try starting the emulator again.
     
  7. bennyj

    bennyj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Orange County, Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can not get the sdk to install either! I have added the sdk and the java/bin to my path in windows 7, I click on the sdk setup and it launches an cmd window, and then it shuts down before I can even read what it said ? Anyone else having this issue with windows 7 64 bit ?
     
  8. JayMonster

    JayMonster Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    What development environment are you trying to use it with? You do have a dev kit installed... correct? (ie Eclipse). The SDK alone provides you nothing but a set of tools.
     
  9. bennyj

    bennyj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Orange County, Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm trying to use it with eclipse. When I click on eclipse.exe it just pops up a box with a list of errors that I have no idea what they mean.

    View attachment 854
     
  10. JayMonster

    JayMonster Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Did you install the 64-bit version of the JDK? Install the JDK x86 (32-bit) version instead and try it again, and I think you will find it will run.

    Don't forget set the appropriate PATH variable
    - Right click My Computer - Environment Variables - System Variables - at the end paste the bin path of 32-bit JDK and hit OK.
     
  11. bennyj

    bennyj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Orange County, Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    That did it JayMonster! Thank you for your help, I really appreciate it!
     
  12. Flomaster

    Flomaster Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    East Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    SDK INSTALL GONE WRONG! Please help

    I am Effing pissed...... the first time I downloaded SDK and opended it it was asking me to download a butt load of stuff. I was having internet problems and had to leave the house. well now when I try and click on SDK SETUP.exe I DO NOT get the same program opening like I did the first time. instead I get a cmd window that opens and very quickly closes. I see no uninstall for SDK, and I can't seem to duplicate the way it acted the very first time I click on SDK setup.exe

    -=Jason=-
     
Search tags for this page
android sdk manager wont open
,
android sdk wont open
,
cannot open sdk manager
,
cant open sdk manager
,
sdk manager opens and closes
,
sdk manager opens then closes
,
sdk manager won't open
,
sdk manager won't run
,

sdk manager wont open

,
sdk manager wont run