Why am I in Las Vegas, but not?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Low Saturn, Jul 7, 2010.

  1. Low Saturn
    Offline

    Low Saturn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just curious why my Droid says I'm in Las Vegas when I'm physcially in San Jose, CA.

    Beautiful Widgets weather, Weather Bug and Maps say I'm in Las Vegas. In fact I can zoom in on an apartment complex in north Vegas where it says my location is.

    It was fine earlier, then all of a sudden, bam, I'm in Vegas.
  2. titans
    Offline

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sometimes Google messes up your location...not sure how to fix this or if there is a fix for this.
  3. Low Saturn
    Offline

    Low Saturn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Would that effect my location in other apps?
  4. ACalcutt
    Offline

    ACalcutt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    maybe its using wifi positioning instead of gps? maybe someone moved from LA and brought their router with them :).

    Edit: Try turning off wifi positioning [settings --> Location and security -> Uncheck "Use wireless networks"]
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2010
  5. titans
    Offline

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If it uses Google to determine location then yes. If not then it shouldn't.
  6. onmyway
    Offline

    onmyway Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    One of those places where we have a lot of sweet t
    Little sister in me cannot resist.....what happens there, stays there.......

    Seriously......refreshing the location did not fix it? A hard reset? Pulling the battery? I turned mine off leaving Cordova/ Memphis, Tn. recently and when mine was turned back on in Omaha, NB it thought I was still in Cordova....until I refreshed.
  7. carbonnoid
    Offline

    carbonnoid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
  8. thelion
    Offline

    thelion New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Google can transport me to Vegas any day. Seriously.
  9. SCUBA-GUY
    Offline

    SCUBA-GUY New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle
    Recently had issues with Google Navigation on the one day I really needed it to work. I did a temporary gig for a production company helping them deliver equipment.

    Phone did not show me being in another city but it had me on the wrong streets and it was giving me bad directions.

    Shut it down and pulled the battery for a full minute and it started working correctly again. That day was the only time I had issues with navigation. Just happened to be the one day it was critical for me that it work correctly.
  10. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Day before yesterday my wife reported to me that Google Navigation was having some issues. It had her in a totally different are then what she was in.

    This is the link to see if any problems are being reported by Google:

    Apps Status Dashboard
  11. ILovemyDroid
    Offline

    ILovemyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Albany New york
    thats why i bought a gps. Google Nav has been good to me but just in case.
  12. jsh1120
    Offline

    jsh1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,462
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    It's an experimental feature of Google Labs. The app reads your desires rather than your actual location. Unfortunately, my phone consistently fails to locate me in Paris.
  13. donnyb
    Offline

    donnyb New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm having the same problem. I'm in Sacramento and believe the problem maybe coming for Verizon Mobile Network.
  14. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,719
    Likes Received:
    539
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    I've had a similar problem, ended up putting me in NY. Just change it back to SJ and you'll be fine.

    Bay Area crew! :wave:
Search tags for this page

google maps thinks i am in las vegas

,

weatherbug default location