Why am I in Las Vegas, but not?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Low Saturn, Jul 7, 2010.

  1. Low Saturn

    Low Saturn Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just curious why my Droid says I'm in Las Vegas when I'm physcially in San Jose, CA.

    Beautiful Widgets weather, Weather Bug and Maps say I'm in Las Vegas. In fact I can zoom in on an apartment complex in north Vegas where it says my location is.

    It was fine earlier, then all of a sudden, bam, I'm in Vegas.
     
  2. titans

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sometimes Google messes up your location...not sure how to fix this or if there is a fix for this.
     
  3. Low Saturn

    Low Saturn Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Would that effect my location in other apps?
     
  4. ACalcutt

    ACalcutt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    maybe its using wifi positioning instead of gps? maybe someone moved from LA and brought their router with them :).

    Edit: Try turning off wifi positioning [settings --> Location and security -> Uncheck "Use wireless networks"]
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2010
  5. titans

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    If it uses Google to determine location then yes. If not then it shouldn't.
     
  6. onmyway

    onmyway Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    One of those places where we have a lot of sweet t
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    G N 4
    Little sister in me cannot resist.....what happens there, stays there.......

    Seriously......refreshing the location did not fix it? A hard reset? Pulling the battery? I turned mine off leaving Cordova/ Memphis, Tn. recently and when mine was turned back on in Omaha, NB it thought I was still in Cordova....until I refreshed.
     
  7. carbonnoid

    carbonnoid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +0
  8. thelion

    thelion Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Google can transport me to Vegas any day. Seriously.
     
  9. SCUBA-GUY

    SCUBA-GUY Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Seattle
    Ratings:
    +0
    Recently had issues with Google Navigation on the one day I really needed it to work. I did a temporary gig for a production company helping them deliver equipment.

    Phone did not show me being in another city but it had me on the wrong streets and it was giving me bad directions.

    Shut it down and pulled the battery for a full minute and it started working correctly again. That day was the only time I had issues with navigation. Just happened to be the one day it was critical for me that it work correctly.
     
  10. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    Day before yesterday my wife reported to me that Google Navigation was having some issues. It had her in a totally different are then what she was in.

    This is the link to see if any problems are being reported by Google:

    Apps Status Dashboard
     
  11. ILovemyDroid

    ILovemyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Albany New york
    Ratings:
    +0
    thats why i bought a gps. Google Nav has been good to me but just in case.
     
  12. jsh1120

    jsh1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Ratings:
    +1
    It's an experimental feature of Google Labs. The app reads your desires rather than your actual location. Unfortunately, my phone consistently fails to locate me in Paris.
     
  13. donnyb

    donnyb New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm having the same problem. I'm in Sacramento and believe the problem maybe coming for Verizon Mobile Network.
     
  14. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11,391
    Likes Received:
    961
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,026
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy s4
    I've had a similar problem, ended up putting me in NY. Just change it back to SJ and you'll be fine.

    Bay Area crew! :wave:
     
Search tags for this page

google maps thinks i am in las vegas

,

weatherbug default location