Whos Got A Droid thats Not On The Verizon Network?

Discussion in 'Android Forum' started by inmotion, May 1, 2011.

  1. inmotion

    inmotion New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Or any network at all?

    Ive had an original Droid for a while sitting in my closet, I upgraded a while back and have been meaning to start playing with custom roms since I no longer have to worry about missing phone calls if it goes wrong. Well its already gone wrong.

    Figured Id start with a fresh slate, so I did a hard reset

    Since I have no intention of connection this to any verizon account, I cant seem to get past the activation screen.

    I tried mounting it to my computer but it just shows a 0byte drive

    Anyone know how I can get functionality out of this thing without activating it?
     
  2. inmotion

    inmotion New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,261
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +24
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7+ 256gb
    Not on verizon? That makes no sense to me....;)
     
  4. Nyteravyn

    Nyteravyn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MidWest
    Ratings:
    +4
    So...it basically becomes a micro slate or wifi android puter, wifi only.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  5. inmotion

    inmotion New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i prefer the term pocket pc ;)

    but yes, ive been reading on and off and finally taking the plunge. it was the dual boot of Debian that made me do it.
     
  6. Nyteravyn

    Nyteravyn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MidWest
    Ratings:
    +4
    Duel boot? You have my attention, lol...

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  7. inmotion

    inmotion New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  8. Nyteravyn

    Nyteravyn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MidWest
    Ratings:
    +4
    That was sweet, what theme was that, any idea? Would love to see if I could get it to work on my drawer'd Dinc...

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  9. TengokuDROID

    TengokuDROID Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Droid that's on MetroPCS.

    I know how to skip the activation screen. You can press the home button, but I know a way to get rid of it for good.
     
Search tags for this page

does ntelos have a network extender

,

flash verizon droid 2 to ntelos