Whoa, hold on...Moto USB cables only?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by Dunc, Oct 3, 2011.

  1. Dunc

    Dunc Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    WTF? Did I just read that? The Bionic can only be used with Motorola branded USB cables? 1st, how the hell does the phone tell if it's a moto cable or not? 2nd, that's complete crap as I refuse to pay the typical super high price for a short cable. Monoprice 10ft cable>moto overpriced+short cables.

    Please tell me this is a joke....
     
  2. Crazed_Z06

    Crazed_Z06 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San Diego
    Ratings:
    +4
    Calm down.

    Some cables work, some dont. Mine works great with a Blackberry cable. I also use a 15ft belkin cable with a mini-usb to micro-usb converter that works fine.

    On the other hand, I do have a couple Generic charger cables that seems not to work. It isnt a big deal.
     
  3. ConqSoft

    ConqSoft Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Ratings:
    +12
    But, if it doesn't work, now you know why. So it's a CYA statement from them. If yours doesn't work, try a different one, or get a Motorola(tm) cable.

    At least it brings to attention that all cables are not created equally.
     
  4. Nyteravyn

    Nyteravyn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MidWest
    Ratings:
    +4
    Many manufacturers are using old USB 1cable, without informing the user, as a cheaper alternative ... this, though backwards compatible, will still cause issues... so if yours isnt working ... there may be your reasoning.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  5. tgyberg

    tgyberg Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,867
    Likes Received:
    261
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +264
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6, 7, & 9
    My X was picky about cables also. Nothing new!
     
  6. FunN4Lo

    FunN4Lo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    I have seen several complaints about USB cables. But I can use all kinds with no issues. I use several different monoprice cables and I can charge/transfer data on any of them. I use an old LG EnV charger as my travel charger.
     
  7. Scribble

    Scribble Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Yeah I think a lot of those "working as intended" things in the update list aren't actually that the error is as intended, there might still have been an error but that the error is not caused by a phone malfunction.
     
  8. Infiniti87

    Infiniti87 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    For those of you using non-motorola cables, when you plug your Bionic into the computer will the computer read the Bionic? I've heard some people can only get the Bionic to charge with non-moto cables. I personally haven't plugged mine in to my computer yet but I use a 6ft USB cable I purchased from a local wholesale electronics shop for $3 that charges my Bionic just fine. I read someones post a few days ago about how moto cables for the Bionic have built in circuitry that allow a computer to detect the Bionic and not just charge it.

    Sent from the rocket in my pocket, my all powerful DROID BIONIC.
     
  9. solution

    solution Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lol just use the cable that came with your wall charger?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  10. Cinoib

    Cinoib Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So far I have used only the short Motorola usb cable to the computer. However I have a few chargers from my palm pro that work fine. I even have an AT&T charger that works.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  11. Dunc

    Dunc Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    The 3' cable? haha no way. If moto provides a 10' cable for monoprice pricing then I'd be happy. Would you be upset if your TV required you to purchased the Monster1000 HDMI cables? I would hope you because they suck for the price you'd pay.
     
  12. tcayton49

    tcayton49 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +21
    Actually, it would be more like your tv requiring a power cord made by the tv manufacturer. Or a laptop requiring you to use a power cord made by the laptop manufacturer. Neither of those things are so crazy, and no one complains about them, so why complain about this? And its not like they're saying other cables definitely don't work, they're just saying they will only support the moto/verizon ones. If other ones don't work, its not their problem. Same as with power cords for pretty much any device.
     
  13. IRSmurf

    IRSmurf New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I transfer data and charge over the microUSB cable included with my Kindle (third gen).

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  14. Renae

    Renae Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6
    Yeah it is shady that other cables won't work, however I've yet to take apart a cable and figure out how they do it. Don't really want to destroy a cable. I can charger from nonmoto cables, but not connect to my computer.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  15. xcrider

    xcrider Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Havent had any cable problems with my bionic. Even using a monoprice cable...

    This is what were talking about right? ahha:icon_eek:
     
Search tags for this page

droid x picky cable

,

droid4 not recognized by usb in chevy cobalt

,

only certain phone chargers are working with droid bionic