Whoa! *22899

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Nexus' started by Nealius, Jan 13, 2012.

  1. Nealius

    Nealius Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I just took my phone out of airplane mode while at work. I heard some music or something and looked at my phone. the dialer was opened and it dialed *22899 on it own.

    I have never dialed this before so it couldnt have been me. And I know not to use *228 since its a sim phone!

    Anyone else ever see this?
     
  2. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,080
    Likes Received:
    1,508
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,672
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    There was another person who experienced this recently. It's somewhere on here in another thread
     
  3. Nealius

    Nealius Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    now that you mention it. I sorta remember seeing a thread on it. off to try the search function.
     
  4. slider112

    slider112 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
  5. *22899

    *22899 Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +5
    If you are to close to another companys tower that is powerful enough your phone will try to activate to it. It sounds crazy but in rural wisconsin US cellular is dominate and my verizon store can't even activate phones on one side of their building because the UScellular tower will make the phones activate with *22899 and it is a huge problem.

    It took over 3 hours to get my Rezound running on the right system after they made the mistake of activating it in the wrong spot.
     
  6. Nealius

    Nealius Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yep found it. read the xda post that is linked in there.
    I recalled it after setting it up as a contact and it Updated my PRL. whatever that is.
     
  7. GalaxyFlatulence

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    weird.....:icon_eek:
     
  8. tgyberg

    tgyberg Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,964
    Likes Received:
    315
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +339
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel 2XL & Pixel C
    Sounds like a job for the FBI's Fringe division!
     
  9. Nealius

    Nealius Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Clearly you made my phone do it!! :mad::p

    I barely get any signal at my workplace. I found that it updated my PRL. I called Verizon complaining about phone signal stregth. I got a feeling that call caused my phone to call home.
     
  10. captdroid

    captdroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +17
    HA I dialed the *22899 and it update to a new PRL. Figured I would do it before it did :icon_ devil: :D
     
Search tags for this page

*22899

,
*22899 pageplus
,
*22899 verizon
,
22899 verizon
,
activate phone 22899
,
verizon *22899
,
verizon *22899 2014
,
verizon *22899 galaxy nexus
,
verizon *22899 lte
,
verizon 22899