who wants apps to sd the froyo way ;)

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by rican408, Jun 10, 2010.

  1. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Trying now
     
  2. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    With Cyanogen, I always installed ALL my apps on the sdcard. Now I know he uses a completely different method for apps2sd, but my point is that things were not noticeably slower at all. I'm hoping his first CyanogenMod based on 2.2 will still use his method of apps2sd so that slow downs and lack of widgets won't be an issue.
     
  3. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    You don't have to partition your sd card for Froyo's version of apps2sd.
     
  4. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Nice work tcrews, I moved one app to sd card, rebooted, got the generic folder and missing app from drawer, restarted ADW, bang app is back!

    Outstanding!!!
     
  5. Darkseider
    Offline

    Darkseider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +0
    That would defeat the purpose of App2SD in Froyo wouldn't it? As for anything that is widegty on the phone and not SD card I don't see an issue considering that would be a small part of available phone storage anyway.
     
  6. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    so does this froyo version of "apps2sd" need a partioned sd card. If not I am going to format my card to get rid of partition. As far as I know only 2.1 apps2sd and droidswap used the partition and droidswap doesn't work on froyo as far as I know (fc upon opening).

    Any help?
     
  7. Darkseider
    Offline

    Darkseider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope. No partition needed.
     
  8. Darkseider
    Offline

    Darkseider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK. Moved a ton of stuff to the SDcard and now after all this missing icon talk I rebooted my Droid just now to see what would happen. Now this is with the stock launcher on BB Froyo v.1

    1. Droid is back up and running.

    2. All applications on SDcard that had shortcuts on the desktop now show the generic Droid icon.

    3. 2 minutes. All icons are now back to normal. Will check icons in launcher to see if there is any inconsistencies.

    4. No inconsistencies found at all.

    Conclusion. It just takes some time for the device to do what it has to do to repopulate the icons. Even with the generic green the app still launched and ran correctly.
     
  9. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yesterday after you told me to wait i did, and hours later the 1 app i moved still had generic folder and missing from app drawer, but one restart of my launcher (ADW) and icon was back in both places.
    So waiting didn't work for me but restarting the launcher did:icon_ banana:
     
  10. Darkseider
    Offline

    Darkseider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wonder if that is because you are using an add on launcher and not the stock launcher like I am?
     
  11. Bear in NM
    Offline

    Bear in NM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +1
    This may not add to the apps2sd discussion but I started noticing something strange with Launcher Pro yesterday. I have one game, Meteor Deluxe that began acting wierd. The game was on the phone and installed, but upon boot I would only get the green generic icon, and the game would not show up in my app drawer. But I could use a shortcut to create it on my homescreen. After reading this thread I just tried doing the Launcher Pro refresh after boot, and the game shows up with the proper icon on homescreen and pops back up in my app drawer.

    So, what some of you may be seeing may not be completely related to apps to sd, but perhaps some issue with Launcher Pro. Heck, perhaps some combination of the 2.2 and the dev. apps being developed. And all of this was tried without doing any moving to sd.

    Craig

    edit: Well this is interesting, I guess I was really seeing what some of you are, as this program updated a day or so ago, and actually installed to the sd card on it's own. I did not put it there, but I just checked to see if I could move it to the sd card, and the box was marked move to phone. I confirmed that it is not in data/app, but found a .asec file on my sd card . So, it appears a refresh of LP will make things normal.
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2010
  12. ieatscones
    Offline

    ieatscones Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    you should also add that from now on, EVERY APP INSTALLED, will install to SD default
     
  13. r1nstang
    Offline

    r1nstang Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok dumb question....how do I move them to the SDcard after running the commands?
     
  14. BeGood
    Offline

    BeGood Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    settings, applications, manage and click on one and you should get a choice.
     
  15. coondogg97
    Offline

    coondogg97 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Philly Burbs
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just found this out when I reinstalled Beautiful Widgets because it wasn't updating. When I reinstalled it went on the SD card. Not even thinking about it I added the widget to my home screen. It disappeared from the home screen shortly and I realized BW was installed on the SD card. I had to move it to my phone and reboot before I could re-add the widget.
     
Search tags for this page

adb setinstalllocation permission denied

,
adb shell pm setinstalllocation 2 application move to sd car
,
adb shell pm setinstalllocation 2 permissao negada
,
in terminal when chaning to sd card permission denied killed
,
move app to sd root lg 8.3 pad box