who wants apps to sd the froyo way ;)

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by rican408, Jun 10, 2010.

  1. ieatscones

    ieatscones Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    haha dont worry that caught me off guard too
     
  2. jaydoubledub

    jaydoubledub Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    DUUUUUUUUDE!!!!!! I just came from CM 5.0.6.2 to Froyo... I was freaking out why i couldn't get ATK to free more than 52megs... I didn't even think that I wasn't installing games and apps to the SD card. I guess I took it for granted. THANK YOU sooo much for this broski!

    Oh, and for folks having problems.. make sure you use the same punctuation for the command. It IS case sensitive! :):icon_ banana::motdroidhoriz::motdroidhoriz::icon_ banana:
     
  3. Wuzz Ranger

    Wuzz Ranger Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Agreed, I can understand a few apps but that is it.

    I understand the flip side of the coin though, we couldn't perform this feature before and now we can...people have to try the newest thing out there.

    Have fun everybody
     
  4. jaydoubledub

    jaydoubledub Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    One question though.
    What apps does that automatically install/move to the SD card?
    I Only want my games and a few other less-used apps to install to SD.
    Any input?
    Anyone?
     
  5. jaydoubledub

    jaydoubledub Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nevermind, I'm retarded... errr I mean "special". LOL!
     
  6. dmacleo

    dmacleo Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Etna,ME
    Ratings:
    +0
    if using launcher pro and don't want to wait for icons to show back up (or reboot) it seems restarting launcher (in preferences) works to do this.
     
  7. boddah

    boddah Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I get the same thing. Once you reboot, they're gone.
     
  8. dreamtheater360

    dreamtheater360 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    For all those having the icons not show up on reboot, are you using LauncherPro. Everything works fine for me on the default froyo launcher, but like others mine are not showing up in launcherpro unless I switch to the regular launcher and then back to launcher pro. Has anyone tried this with other launchers?

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk Pro
     
  9. dreamtheater360

    dreamtheater360 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Another quick observation. I Moved all my apps back to the phone and took everything back to normal settings in terminal. Then I installed the game Jewels from the market since it has the option to move to the sd from the developer. I then created a shortcut on my home screen in launcherpro, adw launcher, and zeam launcher. Then I made each one the default launcher, rebooted each time on all three the shortcut was the generic android one, and the program wasn't on my list of programs. Tried out in the froyo launcher and rebooted and worked perfectly.
    So the problem isn't in us forcing the installation to the sdcard. It has to be something in the way the launcher start up right after booting.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk Pro
     
  10. ieatscones

    ieatscones Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I KNOW its a giant fu*king asshole to redo your homescreen, but uninstalling and reinstalling LauncherPro worked for me.
     
  11. jim1974

    jim1974 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Harrisburg PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tried it again and got it to work. I think I might have misspelled the first time I tried it. Thanks!!
     
  12. C3P0

    C3P0 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does froyo create its own partitioning for apps? I have partitioning from UD10 and Droid Swap..should I get rid of this? If so how?
     
  13. naccout

    naccout Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tried this and it gives me an explanation of all the different settings, I type "2" enter to install on external media and it says 'Permission Denied'
     
  14. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ok I use ADW, so you are saying if i move apps to sd card, then uninstall and reinstall ADW all the apps that i moved will be back in the app drawer and icons will be fine when put on homescreen?

    I already moved them once rebooted and they were gone with the generic folder on homescreen. Didn't uninstall/reinstall ADW though. Don't want to do it again if It won't work.
     
  15. tcrews

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +22
    I use LauncherPro....all I had to do was "restart LauncherPro" from it's menu. Does ADW have a feature to restart it? Once I did that all my icons returned to normal.
     
Search tags for this page

adb setinstalllocation permission denied

,
adb shell pm setinstalllocation 2 application move to sd car
,
adb shell pm setinstalllocation 2 permissao negada
,
in terminal when chaning to sd card permission denied killed
,
move app to sd root lg 8.3 pad box