who wants apps to sd the froyo way ;)

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by rican408, Jun 10, 2010.

  1. ieatscones
    Offline

    ieatscones Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    haha if you use your droid alot, you WILL run out of space
    150 mbs seems like a lot, but it isnt
    google earth - 16mb
    backbreaker -16mb
    asphalt - 9 mb
    apps like that gobble up memory like a turkey
     
  2. speckit
    Offline

    speckit Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    amazing find thanks a lot
     
  3. Darkseider
    Offline

    Darkseider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +0
    What he said. Now you can just slap them ginormous games right onto the SD card. WOOT!
     
  4. tktouch12
    Offline

    tktouch12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    u have to have the special capitalization, but dont capitalize the 'pm'
    thanks. i was wondering how to get that to actually work.
     
  5. Corinacakes
    Offline

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    awesome!!! FYI don't move swype or sweeterhome lol

    P.S. Yes i am blonde :rofl3:
     
  6. ieatscones
    Offline

    ieatscones Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    you can move swype, just go to settings and enable it
    (for some reason its disabled) your special swype settings are still there
     
  7. Corinacakes
    Offline

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    sweet jaysus i'm dumb!! ty so much that worked :D
     
  8. ljprevo
    Offline

    ljprevo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Quick question.

    I went and installed google earth, it installed right to the SD card. (I had it off the phone because it took up to much space)

    Can others confirm apps are being installed directly to the SD card.

    I wish an option would pop up when installing.

    Also, is there a way to stop apps from installing right to the SD card?
     
  9. dfwdroid
    Offline

    dfwdroid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    would this work on any Froyo 2.2 room (rooted of course)?
     
  10. heymikewalker
    Offline

    heymikewalker New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is this also effective for changing to different Operating Systems, like downgrading or ugprading is it a good way to keep your apps and settings?
     
  11. gamemaster333
    Offline

    gamemaster333 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey what do you mean by "from /system/bin (invoking sh for shell)"? I tried "sh pm setInstallLocation 2" and it says "sh: cannot open 'pm'". Any ideas on how to get this to work?
     
  12. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    1. Open up terminal emulator
    2. Type "su"
    3. type "pm setInstallLocation 2"
    It means from the directory /system/bin, meaning that they did a cd to /system/bin before running that command. That shouldn't be necessary - you should be able to just type "pm setInstallLocation 2"

    Make sure that the ONLY capital letters there are the I and the L.
     
  13. Darkseider
    Offline

    Darkseider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +0
    First things first. Try just entering super user mode in the terminal and then type pm setInstallLocation 2 and see if that works. If not then you have to type the following in the terminal:

    su (press enter)
    cd /system/bin (press enter)
    then sh pm setInstallLocation 2 (press enter)
     
  14. ljprevo
    Offline

    ljprevo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  15. gamemaster333
    Offline

    gamemaster333 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks a lot man! I tried the second method and it worked like a charm! I must have a bad mapping to system commands like Boofster said. Either way, it works now so thanks a million! :D
     
Search tags for this page

adb setinstalllocation permission denied

,
adb shell pm setinstalllocation 2 application move to sd car
,
adb shell pm setinstalllocation 2 permissao negada
,
in terminal when chaning to sd card permission denied killed
,
move app to sd root lg 8.3 pad box