who wants apps to sd the froyo way ;)

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by rican408, Jun 10, 2010.

  1. ljprevo

    ljprevo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guys, Android is a Linux based operating system,

    you HAVE to follow commands "caSe sEnsitive"

    You can't enter Pm or all lower case.

    I tried the command and it worked like a charm!!!
     
  2. kc2kzz

    kc2kzz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had to do "su -" first. It did not find pm in the path if I just did "su"
     
  3. Darkseider

    Darkseider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +0
    MODS! Sticky this post:

    Correct Syntax for command in Froyo from terminal emulator is:

    pm setInstallLocation 2
     
  4. Se7enLC

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm guessing he posted from the droid, and it decided to helpfully auto-correct his linux commands to start with capital letters :p
     
  5. boddah

    boddah Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Awesome, works good :) Thanks for the tip rican408

    edit: it looks like apps are installed to sd by default after running this command
     
    #29 boddah, Jun 10, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2010
  6. rican408

    rican408 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Exactly what happend lol
     
  7. LVGDroidFan

    LVGDroidFan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sweet! Works perfectly.

    Thanks for the tip.
     
  8. Boofster

    Boofster Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Seems some of us have a bad mapping to system commands.

    I did
    "sh pm setInstallLocation 2" from /system/bin (invoking sh for shell) and it worked.

    Wishing there was a "move all to sdcard" option. Do I really have to go through all my apps and move them one at a time? :(
     
  9. Darkseider

    Darkseider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes. Anything that displays a widget should NOT be moved to the SD card. Otherwise everything I have tried so far works fine. Hell Google Earth all 22 Meg of it loads and runs just as fast as if it were in memory.
     
  10. Se7enLC

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ummm, why would you want to do that?

    For 1, you can't use widgets if the app is on the SD card, so that cuts off a few apps right there.
    For 2, loading apps off the SD card is SLOWER than out of main memory. Not impossibly slow, but noticeable.
    For 3, what are you going to use all that extra space in /data for?

    I would suggest AGAINST moving all your apps to the SD card just for fun. You should only put apps there that are A) large in size, B). used infrequently, C). don't need to be background tasks and D). don't have widgets or anything

    For example - Games are a good choice, since they are large, don't have widgets, and you only need them while you're playing them. Google Earth and Sky Map are also good choices, since they are standalone apps that are large.
     
  11. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ummm... I just did this and it worked but after reboot all apps I put on sdcard lost icons on home screen (just generic android folders) and the icon are gone from app drawer!!! What gives!?

    and no they weren't widgets they were scortcuts dragged from the app drawer
     
  12. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    OK moved all apps back to phone and all works well

    So what u can move them but unless you have the icon on your homescreen you can't use...and even the you just get a folder for an icon!!!??

    No go until there is a fix

    Am I the only one with this problem?
     
Search tags for this page

adb setinstalllocation permission denied

,
adb shell pm setinstalllocation 2 application move to sd car
,
adb shell pm setinstalllocation 2 permissao negada
,
in terminal when chaning to sd card permission denied killed
,
move app to sd root lg 8.3 pad box