who wants apps to sd the froyo way ;)

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by rican408, Jun 10, 2010.

  1. LVGDroidFan

    LVGDroidFan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sweet! Works perfectly.

    Thanks for the tip.
     
  2. Boofster

    Boofster Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Seems some of us have a bad mapping to system commands.

    I did
    "sh pm setInstallLocation 2" from /system/bin (invoking sh for shell) and it worked.

    Wishing there was a "move all to sdcard" option. Do I really have to go through all my apps and move them one at a time? :(
     
  3. Darkseider

    Darkseider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes. Anything that displays a widget should NOT be moved to the SD card. Otherwise everything I have tried so far works fine. Hell Google Earth all 22 Meg of it loads and runs just as fast as if it were in memory.
     
  4. Se7enLC

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ummm, why would you want to do that?

    For 1, you can't use widgets if the app is on the SD card, so that cuts off a few apps right there.
    For 2, loading apps off the SD card is SLOWER than out of main memory. Not impossibly slow, but noticeable.
    For 3, what are you going to use all that extra space in /data for?

    I would suggest AGAINST moving all your apps to the SD card just for fun. You should only put apps there that are A) large in size, B). used infrequently, C). don't need to be background tasks and D). don't have widgets or anything

    For example - Games are a good choice, since they are large, don't have widgets, and you only need them while you're playing them. Google Earth and Sky Map are also good choices, since they are standalone apps that are large.
     
  5. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ummm... I just did this and it worked but after reboot all apps I put on sdcard lost icons on home screen (just generic android folders) and the icon are gone from app drawer!!! What gives!?

    and no they weren't widgets they were scortcuts dragged from the app drawer
     
  6. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    OK moved all apps back to phone and all works well

    So what u can move them but unless you have the icon on your homescreen you can't use...and even the you just get a folder for an icon!!!??

    No go until there is a fix

    Am I the only one with this problem?
     
  7. rican408

    rican408 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Either u have to wait for them to load from the sd card or something went wrong. Maybe try again? Mine works just fine. Been running all my apps just to play around....
     
  8. spiceditup

    spiceditup Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    same issue with my droid. :icon_evil:
     
  9. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Have you rebooted since moving them?
     
  10. dilleyo

    dilleyo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    so i tried everything an nothing worked an dont ask if i have root cuz im not stupid i know i do an dont ask if im running bb v.1 cuz i am but i get pm not found i also get cant open pm what am i doing wrong im using better terminal emulator pro but i guess it wont do it an iv read all the stuff that worked for other ppl but still nothin
     
  11. Darkseider

    Darkseider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +0
    You just have to WAIT. The same thing happened when I moved Jewels using the "Official Froyo" method because it was supported. All I had in place of the icon was the generic white and green droid. After about 30 minutes or so the icon was back and everything worked like a charm. So it isn't just this little hack that does this. Apps2SD through the OS does it as well.
     
  12. ieatscones

    ieatscones Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks alot man
    this is an awesome find!
     
  13. rican408

    rican408 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    My only problem is all widgets including stock ones went m.I.a. possibly cuz I had launcher pro in sd memory....
     
  14. Ned

    Ned Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just moved Google Earth to SD card and it worked perfectly...
     
  15. BlueSami

    BlueSami Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Citrus Heights
    Ratings:
    +0
    So what is everyone gaining after appstoSD? i mean i still have like 150mb of space on my phone for apps?

    I am just confused as to what you need it for??

    Don't get me wrong its still cool!
     
Search tags for this page

adb setinstalllocation permission denied

,
adb shell pm setinstalllocation 2 application move to sd car
,
adb shell pm setinstalllocation 2 permissao negada
,
in terminal when chaning to sd card permission denied killed
,
move app to sd root lg 8.3 pad box