who wants apps to sd the froyo way ;)

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by rican408, Jun 10, 2010.

  1. rican408
    Offline

    rican408 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I stop driving will edit original post to make it ez
     
  2. joemcp
    Offline

    joemcp Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Worked for me...

    I used lowercase pm and setInstallLocation
     
  3. bamfsig45
    Offline

    bamfsig45 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    883
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    ICT
    Ratings:
    +0
    yea nothing saying how to do the command.
     
  4. coondogg97
    Offline

    coondogg97 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Philly Burbs
    Ratings:
    +0
    That seemed to do it. Just the pm needs to be lower case.

    Thanks

    EDIT: As the first post stated this will not work with widgets. I moved MotoTorch to the SD card and couldn't use it as a widget. So I moved the app back to my phone, but still couldn't find it in the widget list. So I had to uninstall the app and reinstall it. That worked and I have the widget back on my home screen.
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2010
  5. spiceditup
    Offline

    spiceditup Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    it worked for me, Froyo BBv.1 Thanks alot :icon_ banana:
     
  6. justin82
    Offline

    justin82 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,689
    Likes Received:
    213
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +214
    Worked great thanks:icon_ banana::icon_ banana::icon_ banana:​
     
  7. rican408
    Offline

    rican408 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just glad I can give back to the community that has given me so much help :)
     
  8. shooter_454
    Offline

    shooter_454 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Worked for me thanks,I will report if I have any issues,as of now the widget as you stated is the only issue move to sd
     
  9. heymikewalker
    Offline

    heymikewalker New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would like to warn people that although this is cool it will take additional time to boot up,

    It won't recognize the files as installed for a long time.

    Also,
    I'm a rook and I'm not sure and I'm probably wrong but, now can't you just copy paid for program folders and then send them to people?

    I wouldn't want to do that, I'm just wondering,,,
     
  10. ljprevo
    Offline

    ljprevo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guys, Android is a Linux based operating system,

    you HAVE to follow commands "caSe sEnsitive"

    You can't enter Pm or all lower case.

    I tried the command and it worked like a charm!!!
     
  11. kc2kzz
    Offline

    kc2kzz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had to do "su -" first. It did not find pm in the path if I just did "su"
     
  12. Darkseider
    Offline

    Darkseider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +0
    MODS! Sticky this post:

    Correct Syntax for command in Froyo from terminal emulator is:

    pm setInstallLocation 2
     
  13. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm guessing he posted from the droid, and it decided to helpfully auto-correct his linux commands to start with capital letters :p
     
  14. boddah
    Offline

    boddah Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Awesome, works good :) Thanks for the tip rican408

    edit: it looks like apps are installed to sd by default after running this command
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2010
  15. rican408
    Offline

    rican408 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Exactly what happend lol
     
Search tags for this page

adb setinstalllocation permission denied

,
adb shell pm setinstalllocation 2 application move to sd car
,
adb shell pm setinstalllocation 2 permissao negada
,
in terminal when chaning to sd card permission denied killed
,
move app to sd root lg 8.3 pad box