who wants apps to sd the froyo way ;)

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by rican408, Jun 10, 2010.

  1. rican408
    Offline

    rican408 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    go to terminal emulator and enter
    su (enter)
    pm setInstallLocation 2 (enter)
    It will do nothing just exit.
    U can now move most apps to sd card under settings.manage apps. Move to sd card!
    May be issues like widget doesn't load. So try it and discuss!
    Must be running froyo, must be rooted, follow command exactly.
    Update*
    After playing with it for a few hours I suggest only changing apps that are standalone such as games.
    Leave the home replacements, active task killers, widgets or anything running in the backround.
    After a reboot it may look like ur apps are gone. Just give them time to load from the sd card.
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2010
  2. dmt316
    Offline

    dmt316 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    :icon_ banana:
    dancedroid:icon_ banana:dancedroid:icon_ banana:
     
  3. kmarmet
    Offline

    kmarmet Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    does your phone have to be rooted? and is terminal emulator an app?



    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  4. rican408
    Offline

    rican408 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Phone must be rooted as far as I can tell. Su is super user. Not sure if it works without it. And yes term emulator is an app.

    I'm on my phone so I would be doing the banana thing to!
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2010
  5. coondogg97
    Offline

    coondogg97 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Philly Burbs
    Ratings:
    +0
    Using this command: Pm setInstallLocation 2

    Im getting this error:

    Pm: not found
     
  6. Diordna
    Offline

    Diordna Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Cape Coral - FLORIDA
    Ratings:
    +0
    saaaaaaaaaaaame :/
     
  7. rican408
    Offline

    rican408 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't know much about linux or commands but it matters when u use caps in the setinstalllocation part. Maybe no capital p in pm? Also maybe the emulator ur using. I'm using sufbm or something like that lol
     
  8. justin82
    Offline

    justin82 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,689
    Likes Received:
    213
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +214
    +1 setinstalll location not found
     
  9. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    Moved to correct sub-forum
     
  10. rican408
    Offline

    rican408 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    U guys are running froyo right?
     
  11. jim1974
    Offline

    jim1974 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Harrisburg PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same error...any ideas?
     
  12. dmt316
    Offline

    dmt316 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    im running bb froyo, did not use Pm, used pm worked with no issues
     
  13. justin82
    Offline

    justin82 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,689
    Likes Received:
    213
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +214

    yes petes version with red-rum theme
     
  14. bamfsig45
    Offline

    bamfsig45 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    883
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    ICT
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here is what I got when I typed this all in lower case.
     
  15. coondogg97
    Offline

    coondogg97 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Philly Burbs
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, BB V0.1 release.

    And I tried the command in lower case and all it gave me were suggested commands.
     
Search tags for this page

adb setinstalllocation permission denied

,
adb shell pm setinstalllocation 2 application move to sd car
,
adb shell pm setinstalllocation 2 permissao negada
,
in terminal when chaning to sd card permission denied killed
,
move app to sd root lg 8.3 pad box