Who here gets stuck on Nandroid Advanced Backup?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Matth3w, Feb 15, 2010.

  1. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Sometimes when I go to do a backup it says Attempting Backup and just freezes. I do a battery pull and restart and it works better. Anyone else ever have this happen to them?
     
  2. Staywide8

    Staywide8 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, not at all
     
  3. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Doesn't happen often, just occasionally. Perhaps I just see it more because I restore and backup like four times a day for the last two weeks while trying different ROMs, etc.
     
  4. natediddy1120

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lol....dang, that's a lot of times a day!

    But no, I've never had this happen on mine...just had a "ERROR EXITED: STATUS 28" or something like that, one time and it was because of a corrupted download of a nandroid file....
     
  5. thebowers

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    just happened when trying out 2.1 ultimate, but that's the first for me.
     
  6. Bear in NM

    Bear in NM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +1
    No problems on my end with the program doing what it is suppoded to. Only issues are fat fingering the dpad, and doing something goofy like wiping cache:) Luckily I am one who always backs up all partitions in my nandroiding, just for those lame brained occasions.....

    I think if it were happening to me regularly, I might think it was time to reformat the sd card.

    Craig
     
  7. cplus

    cplus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, I've had noo problems in sprecovery except user errors. I think this is good advice to format..
     
  8. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe I will do that...I don't get them often, but maybe 3-4 times I have which is enough to mention...
     
  9. Martin030908

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Never have Nandroid freeze up on me.
     
  10. mach330

    mach330 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    The OC
    Ratings:
    +9
    so far no problems (knock on wood). i've done like 15 nandroid backups already. same amount for restore.
     
  11. BCrawford

    BCrawford Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southeast PA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yup. I have had at least 3 lockups while backing up. I'm using 99.3b
     
  12. 52brandon

    52brandon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
    never had it happen, I will usually do the basic backup, though I have gone advanced and it still worked. Why do you do advanced instead of just basic, out of curiosity?
     
  13. t-bucket

    t-bucket New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry to resurrect an old thread, but the only time I've had advanced backup freeze on me was if I tried setting a name for the backup.
     
  14. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    I think the issue only occured when I closed the keyboard. Odd
     
  15. joneee

    joneee Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine always gets stuck when trying to perform a nandroid backup! It always gets stuck on "Dumping system.tar"
    Sometimes it loads til it's almost to the end and then it freezes. Sometimes it doesn't even load!
    I'm not sure why this is happening. I dled DroidMod 1 and using the nandroid that came with it.

    Any solutions?

    Edit* I tried doing another backup and it froze. I went back and mounted systems and data and tried to the backup and it worked. Not sure if that's the fix or not, but hey, it worked!
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2010
Search tags for this page

nandroid backup hangs at backing up cache