Which one first: wipe data/cache or reformat sd card?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by PolyOlefin, Oct 27, 2010.

  1. PolyOlefin

    PolyOlefin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm having major problems and I want to start fresh. I'm looking to keep UD 1.0.0 that I have flashed, but completely wipe all data on the phone, including everything on the sd card.

    So how do I go about this? Use ClockWork to wipe data/cache, then reformat the sd card within the Android UI settings? Or the other way around?
     
  2. JustisLewis

    JustisLewis Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you sure you want to wipe your sd card? What kind of probemms are you having?

    Sent from my Ultimate DROiD 1.0.0 PooLBoY using Tapatalk
     
  3. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    +1! Tell us what's going on first..
     
  4. zerosouls

    zerosouls Soulless Droid
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    Ratings:
    +0
    It doesn't make any sense to reformat your sdcard ever unless you suspect something is faulty with it or you feel like cleaning it up.
     
  5. fox_dye

    fox_dye Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    Most likely wiping your SD card wont help and it takes a while if you have a 16gb card in. I would try a factory reset wipe the dalvick cache and wipe sd-ext then do a fresh install

    Sent from a galaxy far far away.....
     
  6. PolyOlefin

    PolyOlefin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    My problems: Since a few days ago, I've been completely unable to update Market apps. I'm not talking about UD integrated (LauncherPro, Pandora) or system (Gmail, Google Maps) apps. I'm talking about regular ol' apps... I've tried updating 15 different ones, all of them say "Unsuccessful". However, installing brand new apps is no problem at all.

    Also, no matter what I do to tweak the volume/vibrate settings, text mesages no longer make any alert sound at all. The only way I find out is by seeing the notification in the bar.

    UD 1.0.0 is the 3rd or 4th ROM I've flashed, so I was thinking the problem may have something to do with SD card data left over from previous ROMs that's conflicting with UD somehow. I'd just like to start completely fresh to rule out any potential problems.
     
  7. zerosouls

    zerosouls Soulless Droid
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think this would fall into the 'feel like cleaning it up category'. If you are willing to start fresh on your SDCard and you are willing to put up with all the data loss from formatting the SDcard. Sure, why not, format the living daylights out of it :)

    You can always move back and forth what you want with ur computer.
     
  8. PolyOlefin

    PolyOlefin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    But my question is, which part of the process do I do first? If I reformat the SD card first, will I have problems rebooting into SPRecovery? Will it leave UD and my kernel intact?
     
  9. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    No. You'll need to back everything up on a PC first! Most of the files are installed to you SD card...even your nandroid backup. Try doing just a factory reset first and see if that helps your issues.
     
  10. fox_dye

    fox_dye Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey man why don't you just listen to all of us and do a factory reset and maybe a fresh install first and backing all of the data up to the PC just to reload it after a format doesn't make any sense. Because if the data on the card was corrupted you would just be reloading the same data

    Sent from a galaxy far far away.....
     
  11. mack19318

    mack19318 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tampa
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have found even just doing a nandroid backup install and a reboot will clear up a lot. Listen to these other guys before you start reformating your sd card.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  12. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    That's a very good point!



    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
Search tags for this page

android wipe data wipe cache sdcard

,

does reformating sd card wipe data

,

what happens when i clear the cache on sd card