Which Launcher switcher to go with?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by budmonster, Dec 13, 2010.

  1. budmonster
    Online

    budmonster Guest

    I just installed LauncherPro Plus on the DX, I didn't know that you need a home switcher application to use LP, ADW, etc. On my OG DROID, no application was needed, does anyone know why the DX requires an app? Maybe b/c it's Blur?

    Anyways which should I go with?
    Home switcher for Froyo, Homesmack, Easyhome, Home Manager, Launcher Switcher.

    Or tell me what you use...Thanks- BUD
  2. HelpeRX
    Offline

    HelpeRX New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Reply

    Ya no I am on the DX and you dont need home switcher especially if you are on FROYO. Try uninstall and reinstall then press home then press the always uses this action and press the home launcher you want.
  3. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    I use and like Home Switcher. Haven't tried any of the others.
  4. prime
    Offline

    prime Kernel Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,834
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Florida
    Home Manager is nice.

    ---------------------
    fivefour on xda
    @f1vefour on twitter
  5. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    lol not to be rude BUT THEY ALL DO THE SAME THING!
  6. prime
    Offline

    prime Kernel Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,834
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Florida
    Not exactly, home manager can kill the other running launchers upon switching and has a persistent notification for switching. At the end of the day they all serve the same purpose...but each has a different feature set.

    ---------------------
    fivefour on xda
    @f1vefour on twitter
  7. prime
    Offline

    prime Kernel Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,834
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Florida
    You simply need to go into application settings, locate your launcher select it then clear defaults. Now when you hit home you will see the list of installed launchers.

    ---------------------
    fivefour on xda
    @f1vefour on twitter
  8. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    The new home switcherfor froyo has an option to clear defaults for home screens. Its not pretty but its a little faster than doing it manually.

    tappin and a talkin
  9. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    generally speaking though lol
  10. budmonster
    Online

    budmonster Guest

    i guess they all are different in some way abe, not to be rude :) thx spaz and prime. i just checked 3 of them from the market and each do have different features.
  11. travisn000
    Offline

    travisn000 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was using home switcher, but changed to home smack as it has a handful of useful options that are not available in the others... my only complaint is that the dull grey icon in the app drawer is harder to spot :p
  12. HelpeRX
    Offline

    HelpeRX New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Reply

    you dont need it is a waste of space. You can always press clear defaults to go back and forth. I dont know why someone would want to go back and forth anyways.
  13. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Well I have several of the major home replacement apps installed and go back and forth when i'm answering someones question about a launcher that i'm not currently on, so for me homeswitcher is really conveniant.

    tappin and a talkin
  14. Garemlin
    Offline

    Garemlin Developer Relations

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,156
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Delaware
    The clear defaults only works if you have multiple launchers installed. If you are just using just one the only way to get back to the stock home is with homeswitcher or some other app. Or of course uninstalling said launcher.
  15. nycebo
    Offline

    nycebo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why does HomeSmack, which actually has the nicest interface, need network access and location access in permissions? Makes me a little nervous.
  16. travisn000
    Offline

    travisn000 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    In most apps this is for ads... Although I don't have any ads (..maybe I bought it?)
  17. Big Fate
    Offline

    Big Fate New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I personally dont get the use of Launcher pro if you have a droid X... The stocked home screen is way better... And I'd take 5 screens over 3 anyday
  18. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Well launcher pro has 7 screens not 3. Also it has a scrollable dock bar that will allow you to add 15 dock bar shortcuts (30 if you add gestures)
    Plus its faster imo

    tappin and a talkin
Search tags for this page

home switcher vs