Which Launcher switcher to go with?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by budmonster, Dec 13, 2010.

  1. budmonster

    budmonster Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    I just installed LauncherPro Plus on the DX, I didn't know that you need a home switcher application to use LP, ADW, etc. On my OG DROID, no application was needed, does anyone know why the DX requires an app? Maybe b/c it's Blur?

    Anyways which should I go with?
    Home switcher for Froyo, Homesmack, Easyhome, Home Manager, Launcher Switcher.

    Or tell me what you use...Thanks- BUD
     
  2. HelpeRX

    HelpeRX Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Reply

    Ya no I am on the DX and you dont need home switcher especially if you are on FROYO. Try uninstall and reinstall then press home then press the always uses this action and press the home launcher you want.
     
  3. xliderider

    xliderider Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Ratings:
    +1
    I use and like Home Switcher. Haven't tried any of the others.
     
  4. prime

    prime Kernel Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,858
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +35
    Home Manager is nice.

    ---------------------
    fivefour on xda
    @f1vefour on twitter
     
  5. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    lol not to be rude BUT THEY ALL DO THE SAME THING!
     
  6. prime

    prime Kernel Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,858
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +35
    Not exactly, home manager can kill the other running launchers upon switching and has a persistent notification for switching. At the end of the day they all serve the same purpose...but each has a different feature set.

    ---------------------
    fivefour on xda
    @f1vefour on twitter
     
  7. prime

    prime Kernel Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,858
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +35
    You simply need to go into application settings, locate your launcher select it then clear defaults. Now when you hit home you will see the list of installed launchers.

    ---------------------
    fivefour on xda
    @f1vefour on twitter
     
  8. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    The new home switcherfor froyo has an option to clear defaults for home screens. Its not pretty but its a little faster than doing it manually.

    tappin and a talkin
     
  9. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    generally speaking though lol
     
  10. budmonster

    budmonster Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    i guess they all are different in some way abe, not to be rude :) thx spaz and prime. i just checked 3 of them from the market and each do have different features.
     
  11. travisn000

    travisn000 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was using home switcher, but changed to home smack as it has a handful of useful options that are not available in the others... my only complaint is that the dull grey icon in the app drawer is harder to spot :p
     
  12. HelpeRX

    HelpeRX Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Reply

    you dont need it is a waste of space. You can always press clear defaults to go back and forth. I dont know why someone would want to go back and forth anyways.
     
  13. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I have several of the major home replacement apps installed and go back and forth when i'm answering someones question about a launcher that i'm not currently on, so for me homeswitcher is really conveniant.

    tappin and a talkin
     
  14. Garemlin

    Garemlin Developer Relations

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,429
    Likes Received:
    315
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Delaware
    Ratings:
    +334
    Current Phone Model:
    LG G3 (VZW), Nexus 7 v2
    The clear defaults only works if you have multiple launchers installed. If you are just using just one the only way to get back to the stock home is with homeswitcher or some other app. Or of course uninstalling said launcher.
     
  15. nycebo

    nycebo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why does HomeSmack, which actually has the nicest interface, need network access and location access in permissions? Makes me a little nervous.
     
Search tags for this page

home switcher vs