Where the heck is busybox

Discussion in 'Android Themes' started by boscher50, Mar 1, 2010.

  1. boscher50
    Offline

    boscher50 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I spent hours last night trying to get a certain theme for my phone to work.

    I successfully rooted, blah blah and downloaded metamorph but when I opened metamorph is says make sure I have BUSYBOX installed.

    Is busybox the same as recovery-0.99.2b?
    Is busybox the same as flash_image?

    I'm so confused!

    I feel like I'm the only one who can't successfully theme their droid- I'm not dumb or anything, I understand computers- but for some reason I can NOT FIND BUSYBOX ANYWHERE. (if i don't already have it-- i mean, last night i went to all types of theme forum types of things and put a few "required" files onto my SD card)

    Please don't just link me to another discussion/walkthrough.

    Will someone personally WALK ME through it?

    The theme i want is called DGreen.zip and it's on my SDCard.

    Thanks a lot. Excuse my newbness, I'm not usually like that.

    Appreciated,
    Boscher
  2. Jim 777
    Offline

    Jim 777 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,276
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    If what ever ROM you installed comes with it, look in /system/xbin folder, that's where I found mine. However MM looks for it in the /system/bin folder. You'll need to copy and paste it to that folder, then MM should run fine.
  3. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    If you used Droidmod 1.0 it's included.
  4. boscher50
    Offline

    boscher50 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im at work right now and I don't have my charger so I cant view contents using windows explorer- however I do have ASTRO.

    I opened astro and tried to move the rom into the system/bin but it wont!
    I held click on the rom, and chose copy, then moved to /bin and tried to paste, but it was GREYED OUT!!!
    I held click on the rom and chose MOVE, and in the top it said "moving *.rom" went into the /bin folder, tried to move, but move was greyed out.

    Do I need to use windows explorer to move the rom?
  5. Jim 777
    Offline

    Jim 777 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,276
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Astro won't let you do it, at least not for me. I had to get Root Access from the Market. I know there's another that is comparable but i can't remember what it's called. Root Access is like Astro but allows you to write to the root directories.

    Even if you have FTP you can't write to the root directories. I'm sure you can use Terminal Emulator or ADB if you find out how.
  6. boscher50
    Offline

    boscher50 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Excuse my terrible knowlege on the subject bike_guy and thanks for your reply. I successfully rooted my phone last night.
    Assuming I place that ROM in system/bin - by any means, then my MetaMorph should load up?

    Anyone know of any app that lets you move your system files around?
  7. Chief Wahoo
    Offline

    Chief Wahoo Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Central PA
    I also have the MM problem that after it does its "checks' that it gives the message that ""Some files could not be extracted. . . Make sure you have enough free space in /system and have Busybox installed". I copied busybox over to the subdirectory stated in this thread and tried to rerun the Metamorph app and received the same message. Not sure what else to try, but not real comfortable trying to compress/shrink the /system area in any way.
  8. barbee
    Offline

    barbee New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    lol i was gonna pist with this same problem. i felt so stupid. i understand commands and terminal and all that but for the life of me couldnt get anything to work. until i realised it is included in DM 1.0 :blink:
  9. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Install Busybox | Root Your Droid

    Root your droid rocks! This walkthrough got me through the busybox install. just a word of caution, when you get to this step:
    after install, you need a space and a period.
    On a side note, if you get errors about directories or files already existing, dont worry, just go on to the next step.
  10. Jim 777
    Offline

    Jim 777 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,276
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I ran into this as well. Was told that my ROM has BB and that MM looks for it in /system/bin folder. There was no BB in that folder but I did find it in /system/xbin and when I copy-pasted to /system/bin folder, MM ran without a hitch.
Search tags for this page

where is busybox

,
wheres is the busybox files