Where is z4root?

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by Freezetron, Dec 4, 2010.

  1. scf

    scf Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Weare, NH
    Ratings:
    +0
    Or you can just grab it here. dancedroid

    In order to upload it to DF, I had to change the file extension to ".zip". You will need to change it back to ".apk" in order for it to work properly.

    Download the file
    Rename it to z4root.apk
    Copy it to the root of your SD card.
    Single tap and install.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Ousa

    Ousa New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Deep South
    Ratings:
    +0
    :huh:
    Techno-dummy, here. Got it downloaded onto my A855, Single tap the filename (in Astro) and it has two choices: "Extract to this Directory" and "Extract to new Directory". I don't have a clue.

    This is my first post, so go easy. . .
    I let the ota 2.2.1 screw up my rooted phone. It's crippled, but not bricked (yet).

    Thanks in advance for any help!
     
  3. detox

    detox Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't single tap. Longpress and choose rename. Change z4root.zip to z4root.apk

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  4. detox

    detox Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry I didn't finish. After you've renamed, then you single tap and choose install

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  5. scf

    scf Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Weare, NH
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, please, I thought I explained that. The file is NOT..NOT..NOT a zip file, it is in fact an apk file.

    Download the file and RENAME it to .apk instead of .zip. Upload it to your phone, and single tap.
     
  6. co.redoctopus

    co.redoctopus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i need some help, im new to the forum and android. I wanted to root my phone so i can dump some of the preinstalled junk. I followed directions posted here by scf. seemed to be working. I was able to install app, and open i clicked to temporarily root. Now its got a blue screen that has a z4mod logo at the top and it reads "running exploit in order to obtain root access..." It has a wheel that is turning in the center of the screen. but its been like this for nearly 15 minutes!! is that normal? im afraid to touch it and interrupt progress if its working. what should i do?
     
  7. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,365
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +36
    No. Hit home and reboot then run the command again. I'd recommend permanent root though.
     
  8. draneo

    draneo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Be careful with "dumping" bloatware. If you later want an OTA update you will need it all back.

    Freezing with Titanium Backup is a better approach.

    Sent from my Droid X
     
  9. co.redoctopus

    co.redoctopus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the speedy responses. The thing just froze up completely so i had to shut it down and restart the phone. I wanted a temp root so i could still get updates... could i just rename the unwanted apps, and be able to rename them proper before updating? or is titanium backup just a safer better idea for a newbie like myself? Oops, i just looked i need to root to use titanium backup...right? so permanent root and then titanium backup?
     
  10. draneo

    draneo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Titanium is the quickest and easiest way. Heard too many stories of ppl screwing things up the other way. This way u don't have to know what is needed there for the update....just unfreeze apps before taking the OTA.

    Sent from my Droid X
     
  11. draneo

    draneo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    And yes...do the permament root. You can always use the un-root option later.

    Sent from my Droid X
     
  12. co.redoctopus

    co.redoctopus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok draneo im into that...but do i need to (should i)permanently root?
     
Search tags for this page

what is z4root

,
where is z4root
,
www.z4root.zip
,
z4 root zip
,
z4root apk zip
,
z4root market
,
z4root zip
,
z4root zip download
,

z4root.zip

,
z4root.zip download