I just had an issue where I deleted a contact on Exchange and made sure it was gone from Google. I am not using Backup Assist. However, the contact remained in "PHONE" storage. I discovered this because when I got contact info for the contact in Handcent, it showed "PHONE" as the storage location. Where do I control the "PHONE" storage space? I want to make sure contacts are deleted from it. Thanks!