Where is silent mode?

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by slinky, Mar 21, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. slinky

    slinky Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I press the power button. Where is silent and vibrate mode? It's like HTC forgot to include half the items on the Incredible.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
     
  2. want a droid

    want a droid Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    You use the volume rocker on the right side of the phone. You can move between various loudness levels as well as choose silent and vibrate mode.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  3. slinky

    slinky Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have no idea how that is supposed to work efficiently and my volumes keep changing to some default level. HTC changed much for the worse with some improvements. I have no idea why they would separate turning he phone on and off and different profile modes.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  4. want a droid

    want a droid Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Scroll through loudness levels, go all the way down for silent, press down once more for vibrate...

    Not sure what's difficult about that

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  5. mark3748

    mark3748 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Ratings:
    +0
    There's an HTC widget that let's you switch between them, under Widgets>Settings>Profile

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  6. slinky

    slinky Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why in heaven would I want to install a widget on this power challenged phone when all I had to do was press the power button and be done with it?

    Even worse, why am I using up my valuable screen real estate to place a widget I didn't need? For crying out loud, why do I have a personalization button on the side of the phone that most don't need to get to after setting up their preference. This will take:

    (1) Key press of the power button to turn the phone on
    (2) swipe down to remove the lock
    (3) swipe to the side once or twice to get to this useless widget
    (4) press widget button to launch widget
    (5) select silent mode.

    What genius thought it was easier than this?

    (1) Key press of the power button to turn the phone on
    (2) swipe down to remove the lock
    (3) while still in same position, hold down power to select silent mode
     
  7. trebb

    trebb Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds like you need an iPhone or a blackberry. Don't see what's so hard about the volume rocker- phones have used that since the beginning.

    Sent from my Thunderbolt
     
  8. slinky

    slinky Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used the Incredible before this - an HTC Android product. Why did these idiots change what was working, more battery efficient and practical?

    Going into silent and vibration mode is something I will do several times a day. This is a needless, useless and stupid hassle for something that didn't need improving on it's own HTC non-Sense.
     
  9. trebb

    trebb Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    How is it less battery efficient to use hardware buttons on the side....?

    Sent from my Thunderbolt
     
  10. slinky

    slinky Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So now I have to press those buttons several times to shut off the volume? Does that automatically kick the phone into vibrate or silent mode? How does the phone know which?

    When I'm done with this, do I have to raise the volume by clicking the rocker several times again instead of just one button press?
     
  11. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,344
    Likes Received:
    1,686
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,829
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    Calm down....there's no need to get so hostile over volume control. Manufacturers change things for a reason. Obviously they felt the vast majority of users will find they way it works fine. You can't please everyone.

    Sent from somewhere...
     
  12. trebb

    trebb Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That has nothing to do with battery. Also, if you hold the rocker down it goes all the way up to max volume or all the way down to vibrate mode. If you press one up from that it goes to silent. Woo, 2 presses total!

    Also, you have seven screens to use. Little toggle widgets take up next to no space, and if they don't have an updating feature they don't use any more battery. All of these things take about two seconds total. If it really is that much of a hassle to you, then return the phone. Seems to me like you just enjoy complaining.

    Sent from my Thunderbolt
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Search tags for this page
how to make htc silent
,
how to put htc on silent mode
,
how to put htc one on silent
,
how to put in silent mode htc one
,
how to put silent mode on htc one
,
how to turn htc on silent
,
how to turn silent mode htc one
,
htc one silent mode
,

htc silent mode

,
shortcut silent htc one