Where is all my data going??

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by chevihemi, Apr 9, 2010.

  1. chevihemi
    Offline

    chevihemi New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    So a few days ago (actually about a week now) I notice my data usage going sky high compared to my normal usage. Typically I would get up in the monring (7am) and have a couple of megs used. Now I wake up to almost 70 megs being used and 100 by noon and thats with almost no usage other than a few text messages here and there.

    By the end of the day I am up to almost 250 megs and they aren't being used by me. I am running UD 9.0 but I had this problem before then as well on Droid Mod. Are there any programs to see what is using all this data? Im looking at almost 6gb a month at this rate...

    Thanks much!!
  2. JFDroid
    Offline

    JFDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Have you checked to see if you installed the 2.1 OTA and let SPRecovery block it? If not, it could keep re-downloading endlessly, hogging up all your data and eating your battery life in the process.
  3. beneharris
    Offline

    beneharris New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    portland
    yeah thats probably it. did it start this weekish? is your battery real bad?
  4. chevihemi
    Offline

    chevihemi New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    That could very well be the case. How do I block it? I Just ran the droid mod program and it just told me it was already rooted and wanted to install their ROM.

    Thanks again!
  5. chevihemi
    Offline

    chevihemi New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I am still having this problem. I have done the otaupdate.zip as well as tried Bugless Beast. I download the update and it just prompts to redownload again after.
  6. speed_phreak
    Offline

    speed_phreak New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    oregon
    I think I am also having this issue. I have recently noticed my phone downloading over 170MB a day, which is ridiculous. I re-flashed with AdamZ's SG 6.0.1 and re-installed just a few apps. The issue returned...

    I ran AdamZ's OTA blocker which apparently renames the certificates used to verify the update as genuine. I think by doing this, the damn phone just keeps trying to download the update until it can get a version it can verify as genuine...

    Any suggestions? Obviously, I don't want to install the damn 2.1 update, but I also don't want my phone downloading the damn update over and over... I went out on a limb and called Verizon to see if they could somehow take my phone off the 2.1 list, but the guy I talked to was clueless.
  7. speed_phreak
    Offline

    speed_phreak New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    oregon
    I believe what you described is exactly what I have been facing of late.

    So you are suggesting that we allow the update to download and click "install" when prompted, then let SPRecovery block it, by not selecting "allow update" when it boots into recovery?

    Has anyone with this issue resolved it this way?


    In my case, I would need to rename the update verification certificates back to stock.
  8. R1Lover
    Offline

    R1Lover New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    ................................................
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2010
  9. speed_phreak
    Offline

    speed_phreak New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    oregon
    I have already done that... I re-flashed to SG 6.0.1 and re-installed very few apps...
  10. speed_phreak
    Offline

    speed_phreak New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    oregon
  11. jimnutt
    Offline

    jimnutt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Morrisville, NY
    Yes, it worked fine.
Search tags for this page
how did my verizon use all my data is gone
,

how much data does skydroid use

,
i keep going way why am i going over on my data plan
,
im going through my data plan fast
,

skydroid data usage

,

where is all my data going

,

where is my data going

,
why am i going thru so much data with my new phone
,
why is data usage is so high on motorola photon?
,
why is my data usage going up so fast on my verizon droid
,

why is my data usage so high

,
why is my data use so high
,

why is my verizon data usage so high

,
why is my verizon eating up my data
,
why is phone going through so much data