Where are the settings for the pre-installed voicemail app on D2G?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by yellowbarber, Jan 11, 2011.

  1. yellowbarber

    yellowbarber New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    at large
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm a complete novice to the android OS, but not a complete idiot. This should be a simple fix, but sounds like a completely stupid question I'm sure.

    I want to set my voicemail notification to vibrate. I've lost days trying to figure it out.
    Got no help from Motorola, have called VZW tech twice - to level two tech and waiting on quality assurance's answer.

    Where are the settings permissions for the factory installed voicemail app on the Droid 2 Global?
    Didn't find it here: home>settings>call settings>voicemail
    Not in the applications manager either.
    Nor in the most logical place, (where it is on the text messaging app) the bottom left corner settings button when the app is open. All I get is a multi touch keypad.

    So far this has stumped everyone I posed the problem to and starting to go beyond pissed that a simple user setting like this isn't either allowed or possible. The last thing I want to do is get another app - I want the user apps that came with the phone to work logically.

    (sorry if I started to rant)



     
  2. Hawaiian Princess

    Hawaiian Princess Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,038
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Ratings:
    +23
    sorry ur having a tough time. I can try to look on my end.

    Aloha from Hawaii ... Droid 2 Global
     
  3. yellowbarber

    yellowbarber New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    at large
    Ratings:
    +0
    anybody?
    Is this some kind of software thing that Google overlooked when they wrote the program?

    Who's tree do I need to be barking up?
     
  4. kingwaffle

    kingwaffle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought it adhered to text messaging settings but I just tried it on mine and it didn't.

    Good question. Good question indeed.
     
  5. Hawaiian Princess

    Hawaiian Princess Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,038
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Ratings:
    +23
    what about....home/settings/sound to check if vibrate is set to always. im just guessing

    Aloha from Hawaii ... Droid 2 Global
     
  6. eNomineZerum

    eNomineZerum New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    East of the Rockies
    Ratings:
    +0
    For me, the voicemail has always responded in the same manner as the text messaging. It has been this way since 2.0 on my OG Droid. It annoys me because I had three specific Metal Gear Solid tones that I used on my Moto ROKR. Codec for phone, Alert for text, and Smash Bros Brawl victory for the rare voicemail. I do believe you just have to live with it tied to your text notification.

    By the name of Zero
     
  7. kingwaffle

    kingwaffle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    It is NOT tied to your text notification. Or it is. I have my phone on silent mode all of the time, and I get a vibration notification when I receive a text.

    I had a co-worker call me and leave me a voicemail and while the phone vibrated while I received the call, the voicemail notification was silent.
     
  8. yellowbarber

    yellowbarber New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    at large
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried that, three different VZW techs tried that, and I tried it again to see if it somehow magically changed - no dice.

    Regadless of make (LG, Moto, Sony Ericsson, Nokia), I have always been able to set all my old phones' notifications to ringtone:incoming call, text msg:vibrate, voicemail:vibrate, everything off in silent mode.
     
    #8 yellowbarber, Jan 11, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2011
  9. eNomineZerum

    eNomineZerum New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    East of the Rockies
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hm, the only thing I can reccomend is going to the official Android forums for Google and post it there. Maybe an android dev will be able to enlighten us. Good Luck and sorry I wasn't much help. :/

    Keep us posted.

    By the name of Zero
     
  10. yellowbarber

    yellowbarber New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    at large
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks everyone for chiming in, I have posted to Goggle's Android forum and getting no answers there...ughh
     
  11. eNomineZerum

    eNomineZerum New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    East of the Rockies
    Ratings:
    +0
    They tend to be a bit slow but they are THE SOURCE. Ill take this minor inconvience in trade for all the other great things Android gives.

    By the name of Zero
     
  12. Hawaiian Princess

    Hawaiian Princess Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,038
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Ratings:
    +23
    I say take it back to vzw store get an exchange. Lol

    Aloha from Hawaii ... Droid 2 Global
     
Search tags for this page

how to change the voicemail app on droid 2

,

how to make an app to replace pre installed voice messaging