Whenever the gb ota comes....

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by salem, Apr 9, 2011.

  1. salem

    salem Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    how do I prevent it from updating/or automatically installing (in order to keep rooted gb)?
     
  2. PS3Gamer

    PS3Gamer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I want to know the same answer, because I remember the last update came up and I was rooted. It unrooted me and caused some issues, since I rooted through the terminal.

    Does seem like the install comes fast and unnoticed too.
     
  3. ekf028

    ekf028 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Somewhere in Oklahoma
    Ratings:
    +1
    Bump

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  4. Droid_Boi86

    Droid_Boi86 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Arizona[Central Park]
    Ratings:
    +0
    .....well it prompts you when an update is available, sometimes you actually gotta check to see if there's one available manually[Settings>>About Phone>>System Update]. i have never had an update go ahead and install by it's self. So you shouldn't have to worry about it.
     
  5. 13th angel

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Ratings:
    +1
    Rename/freeze the updater.apk or just remove/freeze bloat.

    Sent from my Liberated D2G
     
  6. timelord

    timelord Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't most roms automatically disable updater?
     
  7. salem

    salem Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is it the one in the system>app.... BlurUpdater_VZW.apk? So, just change it to .bak?
     
  8. 13th angel

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes it is. Sorry for the long reply, havent been checking as much as i normally do.