Whenever the gb ota comes....

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by salem, Apr 9, 2011.

  1. salem
    Offline

    salem New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how do I prevent it from updating/or automatically installing (in order to keep rooted gb)?
  2. PS3Gamer
    Offline

    PS3Gamer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I want to know the same answer, because I remember the last update came up and I was rooted. It unrooted me and caused some issues, since I rooted through the terminal.

    Does seem like the install comes fast and unnoticed too.
  3. ekf028
    Offline

    ekf028 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in Oklahoma
    Bump

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  4. Droid_Boi86
    Offline

    Droid_Boi86 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona[Central Park]
    .....well it prompts you when an update is available, sometimes you actually gotta check to see if there's one available manually[Settings>>About Phone>>System Update]. i have never had an update go ahead and install by it's self. So you shouldn't have to worry about it.
  5. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Rename/freeze the updater.apk or just remove/freeze bloat.

    Sent from my Liberated D2G
  6. timelord
    Offline

    timelord New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't most roms automatically disable updater?
  7. salem
    Offline

    salem New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is it the one in the system>app.... BlurUpdater_VZW.apk? So, just change it to .bak?
  8. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Yes it is. Sorry for the long reply, havent been checking as much as i normally do.