When will the reception issue get better?

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Nexus' started by skatingrocker17, Jan 5, 2012.

  1. skatingrocker17

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just got my Galaxy Nexus today and I have 1 3G bar. I ran a speedtest and I only get .3Mbps down. I was aware that there was some 4G reception issues but where I live 4G is spotty so on my Droid RAZR sometimes I would have 2 4G bars and other time I would just have full bars on 3G (between 75-80dB). With my RAZR on 3G I would get between 1 and 1.5Mbps down on Speedtest. 4G speed tests ranged from 6Mbps to 10.

    When I got my Galaxy Nexus today I noticed I only had 1 bar of 3G service. I thought maybe it's wrong, so I went into "Status" under "About Phone" and I had -100dB signal. I haven't even seen a 4G signal on my Galaxy Nexus yet, the difference between signal strength on RAZR vs. the Nexus is night and day. The Nexus is a much cooler phone though.

    Would a baseband update fix this? If so, is there any ETA on it?
     
  2. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,070
    Likes Received:
    1,493
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,657
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    There is an OTA on the way. If you root you can grab the 4.0.3 update and install it. There are other threads about this:)
     
  3. nbucko

    nbucko Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    A lot of people have said flashing a new rom with 4.0.3 has corrected their reception issues. I haven't yet so I have no way to tell. The 4G in my area is spotty because I'm on the edge of coverage.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  4. skatingrocker17

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    I looked on the first page but didn't see one but I should probably dig a little deeper.

    I'm running GummyNex .4.2 which is on 4.0.3 and I have been running this ROM since about an hour after I got the phone this morning.
     
  5. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,070
    Likes Received:
    1,493
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,657
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    Then the update won't have any affect as you're already running 4.0.3 unless there are a few differences.
     
  6. skatingrocker17

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow... I really like this phone and everything but this is kind of ridiculous.

    Isn't the baseband like the radio firmware? Couldn't they fix it with an update to the baseband?
     
  7. ænyoc

    ænyoc Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Check your baseband version under settings -> about phone. The latest is I515.09 V.EK06 / I515.EK04

    Survivor of the Great 2011 Verizon Google Samsung Galaxy Nexus Prime Debacle and proud owner of a Galaxy Nexus and Original Droid 1/Milestone. Sent from my Sexy Lexus Galaxy Nexus.
     
  8. MrKleen

    MrKleen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +5
    I had the signal issues but it is fixed. I did install a 1.0.3 rom (Axiom) along with the new radio...

    I don't know if the software or radio resolved my issues or if Verizon did something with their network, but all I can say is that my signal issues have been fixed.

    Stick with the phone for a while and I think it will work out for you as it did for me.
     
  9. hydro556

    hydro556 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Mine is not the most current then. I have EK05/....EK02

    ETA- I like my GNex a lot, but I am contemplating returning it before the 15th if there is not something concrete from VZW/Google/Samsung about a fix for the signal strength at a minimum.
     
  10. ænyoc

    ænyoc Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1403133

    Here ya go :) its easy to flash, do it in cwm just like a ROM.

    Survivor of the Great 2011 Verizon Google Samsung Galaxy Nexus Prime Debacle and proud owner of a Galaxy Nexus and Original Droid 1/Milestone. Sent from my Sexy Lexus Galaxy Nexus.
     
  11. skatingrocker17

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looks like I'm not running the latest then. I'll flash the newest baseband and yet you guys know. Thanks.
    View attachment 45452
     
  12. Art Vandelay

    Art Vandelay Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yeah flash the new radios, but i haven't a stronger signal. Seems like the radios are locking on better, but the strength is still the same. I'm probably a bad subject though b/c I'm in like a dead zone and had trouble with my D1 getting service here.

    When I visits family outside of Philly I get full 4g service and never have problems while there.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page
can 3g root phone have better reception
,

how to get better service on droid

,
how to improve reception on droid bionic
,
receptions problems galaxy s4 ebay
,
way to improve nexus prime signal
,
will rooting my galaxy axiom void the warranty