1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

When changing roms?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by David522, May 10, 2010.

  1. David522
    Offline

    David522 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I want to change my rom that im using now, if i do so will i lose my setup on the existing rom? or will i be able to switch back to in as the same in the future?

    And, sorry bit of a noob, but how do you change roms?

    Thanks
    Last edited: May 10, 2010
  2. superglen99
    Offline

    superglen99 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    779
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn,WA
    It is always best and sometimes you have to wipe data/cache when changing roms. if you go to the rom makers section on this forum it will let you know if you need to wipe. as a rule of thumb i would always wipe just to be safe. so yes you will lose your setup. make a back up on your current rom to be safe and that way you can go back. to switch roms the easiest way is to download rom manager from the market. it does all the work for you and if you buy the premium version there are several custom roms and kernals to choose from. of course you must be rooted but t sounds like you already are. Hope this helps.
  3. gszeman
    Offline

    gszeman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Novi, MI
    Also, If you use a launcher and you backup the launcher before switching ROMs, when you restore the apps it will keep your screen setups how they are (you might need to replace the widgets...but apps and shortcuts will be saved)

    (I use Helix Launcher from the market and Titanium Backup)

    Good luck!
  4. David522
    Offline

    David522 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes i have rom manger, i dont know where to make a backup tho?
    Basically im trying to get from buglessbeast 1.0 to DarkEdge UI

    Im still learning about roms, Whats nandroid?
    Last edited: May 10, 2010
  5. gszeman
    Offline

    gszeman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Novi, MI
    What ROM are you using now?

    Nandroid (definition taken from here): A file typically created in the custom recovery program, such as SPRecovery, that is a carbon copy of whatever state your phone is in before a drastic change is made. the file then can be moved onto or off of the SD card for later use in case something should go wrong in the ROM or Update, or a Boot Loop occurs

    DarkEdge is a theme, not a ROM...a theme is applied over a ROM...more for aesthetics than functionality.

    From the DE thread: DarkEdge has been tested with the stock ESE81, CM 5.0.6.2, Stock 2.0.1 and DM 2.0.1 ONLY
    Any ESE81 Based rom that has been DEODEXED "SHOULD" work, but do so at your own risk, Please make backups!!
  6. idulfingz
    Offline

    idulfingz New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    different every week, you would have to ask
    Wow, this is what i love about this site, i came to the thread hoping to help but its all been taken care, nice to see dancedroid
Search tags for this page

android does changing rom delete everything

,

does changing rom delete everything