1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

What's up with Webtop on ICS?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by toy4x4, Nov 13, 2012.

  1. toy4x4
    Offline

    toy4x4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    VA
    I just noticed webtop is significantly smaller on ICS... Used to be like 600MB on /osh now its at /system/vendor/ and only like 130MB.
  2. DerekWeber
    Offline

    DerekWeber New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Because now it just makes your home screen stretch to fit your Webtop device screen. It no longer looks or behaves like a pc the way it used to.
  3. JayBusa102709
    Offline

    JayBusa102709 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What do you mean by that webtop has always worked the same for me what do you mean it doeant work like a pc...
  4. Ruckstar
    Offline

    Ruckstar New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you cannot have multiple windows on 3.0. 2.0 had a much more ubuntu like experience. I'm personally waiting on the 2.0 to be ported to the Droid Razr with Android 4.0.4
  5. cmwpdx
    Offline

    cmwpdx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Any news from anyone about webtop on Jellybean for Bionic when it updates?

    Here's what Moto chat wrote me today:

    "Motorola’s Webtop app helps users extend their smartphone experience to larger screens. While consumers around the world have adopted Webtop and the concept spurred a lot of innovation in the industry, the adoption has not been strong enough to justify continued resources being allocated to developing Webtop on future devices. We have also seen development of the Android operating system focus on the inclusion of more desktop-like features. We will no longer be including Webtop on the Droid Bionic when the Jelly Bean update arrives."

    This seems clear that Webtop will be excluded from the JB Bionic update. If so I need to figure out how to kill the updater.

    the Razr forum seems to have conflicting info whether 3.0 was kept in the JB update for that phone. There is a difference between simple screen mirroring (which any phone can do) and full Webtop 3.0.
  6. DerekWeber
    Offline

    DerekWeber New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's my understanding that the JB update will not include webtop but will not remove it either. Apparently there is a separate partition for webtop and it will simply be left alone during the update. This means whatever you have now with ICS is what you will have with JB.
  7. Ruckstar
    Offline

    Ruckstar New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    a co-worker has JB and I checked in the system settings, no sign of webtop. He didnt plug into a dock or lapdock so I cannot confirm that part for sure.
  8. mattjenn
    Offline

    mattjenn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Jb has not been released for bionic I was told in email from Motorola that existing phones that have Web top 3.0 will keep 3.0 they are not removing it but not doing anymore development on it either. I asked them in email because I had just bought lapdock and didn't want to take update in future if it wasn't gonna work but they assured me it will work as is on ics
  9. Lokifish
    Offline

    Lokifish New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Webtop 3.0 is nothing more than a ppi/resolution switch and launcher. You can effectively duplicate by doing just that. Install a desktop look launcher and mirroring resolution switcher. Even if they don't include it you are not really losing much.
Search tags for this page

bionic ics webtop without dock

,

bionic webtop on photon

,

droid bionic webtop ics

,

ics and webtop

,

photon ics webtop

,

remove webtop droid bionic

,

webtop for ics roms