What's up with this place? so SLOOOWWW!

Discussion in 'Off Topic Forum' started by teddyearp, Aug 5, 2011.

  1. teddyearp

    teddyearp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,807
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Pinetop, AZ
    Ratings:
    +13
    Current Phone Model:
    Motorola XT1103 (Nexus 6)
    For one, how many ads and extras are enough? Can you make money (I mean hear me) now?

    I have never been on the popularity list here with the admins, but another reason I don't visit much of late is how long it takes for the pages to load. Or am I alone in this? I mean, it feels as though I am on dial-up here. And to check out why (scrolling, etc), I gotta make sure I double click on a border (whereupon IE8 shows "Not Responding") lest I click on one of the 10,000 ads and then totally freeze up my experience (leading to the three finger death punch, CTRL, ALT, DEL).

    Just putting out a feeler to see if I am alone. I know I can't be the only one on 1.5 DSL.

    earp.
     
  2. fish1552

    fish1552 Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Savannah area of Coastal Georgia, USA
    Ratings:
    +17
    No problems with page loads here.
     
  3. czerdrill

    czerdrill Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +12
    why are you using ie? worst browser ever
     
  4. meaker

    meaker Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Ratings:
    +2
    I had the same problem with IE but when using chrome it's fine... IE is so bad with facebook that it was almost unusable

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  5. UrbanBounca

    UrbanBounca Rescue Squad
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,737
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +240
    IE is terrible. Find a new browser.
     
  6. b-jammin21

    b-jammin21 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Ex. Chrome
     
  7. HDTVsportsfan

    HDTVsportsfan Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,336
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Between Richmond VA. and D.C.
    Ratings:
    +5
    The bills have to paid. It takes a lot of resources with a site of this size. We've all seen sights a whole lot worse. Sorry you're having speed issues.
     
    #7 HDTVsportsfan, Aug 6, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2011
  8. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +64
    I have absolutely no issues logging onto the site or browsing through the forum. I don't really understand the point of this thread.
     
  9. deathsbane

    deathsbane New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm rocking 768k DSL had haven't had any issues. If you don't like ads modify your host file to block them

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  10. teddyearp

    teddyearp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,807
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Pinetop, AZ
    Ratings:
    +13
    Current Phone Model:
    Motorola XT1103 (Nexus 6)
    Thank you all for your input/suggestions/perspectives.
     
  11. Martin030908

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    definitely try another browser instead of IE... that's where I'd start.
     
  12. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    Earp,
    I'd suggest Firefox with NoScript. That will block every ad on every page unless you tell it not to. It only shows images directed to the source of the page by default.