What's up with the camera in 0.2.1 for Droid 1?

Discussion in 'ShadowROM' started by NickR, Oct 6, 2010.

  1. NickR

    NickR New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did the camera apk change or something? Mine no longer focuses when I push the camera button down half way. It seems stuck in its own auto focus program where it just randomly refocuses on a random object. I tried to take some pictures last night of my new puppy and my wife and they were absolutely terrible! I couldn't get the camera to focus on them, it wanted to focus on anything but them. It seems to be acting like the camera on my wife's incredible a little bit, seeing as how they don't have a camera button.

    Is there a way to get my old camera back? My phone always used to take great pictures that I was always proud of. Now, I'm stuck just deleting everything because I know how good they could be.

    Someone help please. Thanks.
     
  2. burgeke

    burgeke Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't comment for certain but wanted to point out that the same issue existed in a couple of the CM6 nightlies. Not sure if related or not...
     
  3. billygalbreath

    Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    CM indeed updated the camera. We actually had to pull down a last minute fix from them moments before release cause the camera wasn't working at all..
     
  4. NickR

    NickR New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    Is there an easy way to go back to the old version of the camera? I really don't care for this updated version because it obviously isn't designed for the Droid 1. It might be ok for other phones that don't have a dedicated camera button, but that is exactly why we have the ability to do a half press on the camera button, to focus it.

    Thanks for the help.
     
    #4 NickR, Oct 6, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2010
  5. billygalbreath

    Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sadly, no. I tried this on the test builds and the old camera force closes with the new updated hardware specs in the kernel and libraries.

    Rest assured I am keeping an eye out for CM to fix this issue.
     
  6. NickR

    NickR New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    That is sad! I'll be watching for any updates, because I love the ROM, but this definitely needs to be fixed. I can't believe CM would release this and think this camera operation is acceptable. Shame on them.
     
  7. RonsHome

    RonsHome Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just try turning off the auto focus in the settings with both camera and video. Works fine I use it but it is a temporary fix.
     
    #7 RonsHome, Oct 6, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2010
  8. brochaos

    brochaos Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    on the cm6 nightly i was able to put an old camera.apk back without any problems.
     
  9. NickR

    NickR New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    If you do that, how do you get it to refocus? When I turn off the autofocus like that, a lot of things are out of focus and it won't refocus when I want to take a picture like it should.
     
  10. NickR

    NickR New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    Good news! Hopefully that means we can get the old camera apk back soon on ShadowRom!
     
  11. donerico

    donerico Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's what I had to do because the video camera kept refocusing every few seconds.
     
  12. caliwagon

    caliwagon New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any updates on this? Anyone have another camera apk that has worked for them? I'd really love to be able to take better videos of my new son--the ones I'm taking are coming out pretty bad.