What's up Good People?!?!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions & Site Assistance' started by PhillJ, Nov 1, 2010.

  1. PhillJ
    Offline

    PhillJ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    OG Droid here, looking to rock one of these ROMS. I've read up but this stuff is still a but confusing. Any quick tips would be appreciated. Thanks!!!
  2. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,058
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    To be honest.....the best thing I will say is read read read. Until its not so confusing. There is a lot of info so read and ask questions before doing anything.

    BTW welcome to the forum :)

    Sent from somewhere...
  3. PhillJ
    Offline

    PhillJ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I am ROOTED!!!!! Now I need to figure out how to install Sapphire.
  4. Dj Carpenter
    Offline

    Dj Carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Which rooting method did you use?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  5. zerosouls
    Offline

    zerosouls Soulless Droid Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    Wait let's understand; what does OG mean? Certainly you can't mean original gangster for your ROM interest... my god could you? Luckily I hope not, so what's the OG mean?
  6. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    I'm pretty sure it means original ganster but it has become a coloquialism for the first of something. I could be wrong.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  7. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Oh and welcome to the forum.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  8. zerosouls
    Offline

    zerosouls Soulless Droid Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    Yea, welcome.... cept this OG thing needs to be understood lol
  9. PhillJ
    Offline

    PhillJ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    SPR recovery. Root Droid 1 regardless of OS version
  10. PhillJ
    Offline

    PhillJ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    You are Correct!
  11. zerosouls
    Offline

    zerosouls Soulless Droid Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    Oh hey, I got Ernest from the parking lot who wants to meet you as well as the rest of us...

    What did u mean by OG?
  12. PhillJ
    Offline

    PhillJ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Spaz got it right. Droid 1
  13. PhillJ
    Offline

    PhillJ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I posted this in the Nandroid error section, but since I have you guys here.:

    How long does a simple nandroid backup take? I am rooted, Droid 1. I did the SPR recovery. My phone has been "attempting nandroid default backup" for a while now. I wiped the cache and data prior to doing the backup.
  14. zerosouls
    Offline

    zerosouls Soulless Droid Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    Thanks son :D
  15. Dj Carpenter
    Offline

    Dj Carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Usually it doesn't take longer than maybe a minute. But it can depend. It will say things like dumping system tar, etc, and once they're done being dumped(there are a few) it should sit there for a second and then say something like backup complete. But, I recommend using advanced nandroid backups because it gives you the option of naming the backups. That way you don't get confused on which is which if you have mulptiple backups saved
  16. Dj Carpenter
    Offline

    Dj Carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    And you don't have to wipe cache and data before making a backup. I actually think it isn't recommended because you need to select the asterics and I think data and cache are two of the options listed and if you wiped it, then there won't be any to backup. But it may not matter
  17. PhillJ
    Offline

    PhillJ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ok I got it to work. Thanks. Now I am trying to flash a kernel but the moto zip file that I used to root is the same name "update.zip" as what I think I am supposed to name the kernel zip. I'm flashing the chevy 1.2 ghz ulow. It's saying that I need to name update(2).zip. I thought it was always supposed to be "update.zip" if we are putting it onto the sd card through a cpu download.
  18. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,058
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    In sprecovery you always use an update.zip anything else won't work. If you have another file named update.zip you either delete it or rename it.

    Sent from somewhere...
  19. Dj Carpenter
    Offline

    Dj Carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    It's exactly as jstafford1 said. Once you're rooted you can delete the file from your SD card that you used to root with. You no longer need it but just in case, I would keep it saved on the computer.
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2010
  20. PhillJ
    Offline

    PhillJ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks everyone! i have ultimate Droid 1.0 running with 1.25ghz ulow chevy kernel. Now I need to check on some themes.