What's the latest Ics news?

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound' started by sp3ar2envi, Jun 8, 2012.

  1. mikeinctown

    mikeinctown Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Ratings:
    +1
    The only time my battery has not charged and was getting hot, an app was running using a ton of rsources. I rebooted and checked what was running but all was fine after the reboot. (with the stock Rezound) I have not installed ICS yet.
     
  2. jvc

    jvc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Utah
    Ratings:
    +0
    My battery used to run hot and die pretty quickly. It seemed to get worse after I downloaded the first ICS leak, but that may have been due to heavier usage playing with the new features. So, I went down to 4 screens, switched to a pretty cool minimalist black wallpaper, turned off weather updates (including the standard HTC clock/weather widget in favor of a clock-only widget from HD Widgets), turned my brightness down to 40%, and downloaded Watchdog Lite to let me know when any apps are misbehaving. So far, the only one I've had a problem with was Dolphin Browser, which a few times has been flagged using over 50% of my phone's resources when I wasn't even actively using the app.

    I used to have my battery go from 100% to 30% with moderate use in about 4-5 hours. Now, with the same use, I get a good 9-12 hours out of it before it hits 30%.
     
  3. JeffDenver

    JeffDenver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Thats really odd...I use Dolphin and have not had issues with battery life with it.
     
  4. jvc

    jvc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Utah
    Ratings:
    +0
    It surprised me too. The last alert I got about Dolphin was about 2 weeks ago. I uninstalled, then reinstalled it. No problems since. It's the only mobile browser I use. I think my battery issues were less about rogue apps than they were about too many active widgets, backgrounds syncs, bright display, etc. If I feel like I want to run those things again, I'll just have to give up some money and pocket space for the extended battery.
     
  5. cybertec69

    cybertec69 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,207
    Likes Received:
    267
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    Ratings:
    +318
    Everything seems to be fine now, weird. Must have been the Vipre antivirus app, reason I installed it I run Vipre antivirus on my PC's which works great, at my recent new two year upgrade they threw me in a one year free mobile app download, I thought I give it a try, guess not, went back to Lookout.
    But still have one issue, my Avatar dissapears once I leave the forum app.

    Sent from my HTC Rezound using Droid Forums
     
  6. mikeinctown

    mikeinctown Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Ratings:
    +1
    I updated to the latest ICS leak yesterday evening and so far I'm loving it! I don't notice and smoothness difference because the phone was so fast before, but I do notice that apps install even quicker now. Some apps that I was having a bit of trouble with before now seem to run smooth as well. Perhaps the biggest difference to me is the home page and having 5 icons laid out at the bottom. This is different than what I was used to. Oh, and also like the disable features as well as the usage info. Gives you lots of detail about what resources are being used.

    How I did the install.
    Download the link and rename it to the PGH deal (no .zip needed, but do leave it as a zip file)
    place it on the phone SD card
    Remove back cover (for some reason, my phone would not boot into bootloader without removing the cover)
    Boot into Bootloader. the phone will detect the software and you just select yes for the upgrade. (took about 20-30 minutes to go through everything)
    Phone wil start back up with new ICS installed. I just signed back in to all my accounts and got the backups back, then went to google play and downloaded all the apps again.

    Total process including downloading the new file was maybe an hour. I get 4g in the same places I did before, so it seems to be working fine.
     
  7. blownfuse25

    blownfuse25 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok.... So.... I try to install the ICS... Get to bootloader... Click on recovery, but the phone won't let me pick. , just reboots. The green arrows come up for about 10 seconds, then goes to a red triangle with an explanation point in it.... Is this normal ?
     
  8. jonpearson

    jonpearson Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have never been on 4g with this phone after the leak I'm picking up 4g everywhere...don't know if its ics or Verizon improving their towers in my area.
     
  9. jonpearson

    jonpearson Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know what happened. When I did the leak after renaming and placing on the root of the sd card turned off phone and went into bootloader I didn't have to select recovery or anything. The only thing I had to do was select yes to do the update. Maybe you missed a step.
     
  10. JeffDenver

    JeffDenver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    It may have been your settings. I have seen situations where 4G gets turned off by accident...I only found out about it after calling tech support.

    ICS would have reset everything during the update.
     
  11. mikeinctown

    mikeinctown Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Exactly what happened with me. I never selected a file as some of the instructions out there say. The phone automatically found the file and asked yes or no. I clicked whatever the yes option was and then it did its thing. Once it starts though, you don't touch it, but once I think to select one more yes option.
     
  12. cybertec69

    cybertec69 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,207
    Likes Received:
    267
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    Ratings:
    +318
    Ok, make sure you rename the downloaded zip, now go find it where you installed it and rename it, just right click on it at remove all the numbers from the front and the zip from the back "it automatically imports as a zip to your device", connect your phone to the pc and right click on the same file, and send it to the SD card location "mine SD Card was showing as removable H drive, now unplug the phone from the PC, check with Efile explorer and see if the zip is in your SD card directory, it will look like a stack of books Red color I think and below it will read PH981IMG.zip, make sure it has only these letters. Mine was the latest leak #1.16_002.2.10_002 software#3.14.605.10710RD , now after you make sure it is in your SD card as I told you, make sure you go into boot loader settings in your phone settings and remove the checkmark for fast boot "fast boot will screw it all up", that is what is probably causing your problems. Another thing, it takes about 15 minutes for it to load, do nothing, leave the phone alone, when it goes to step 3 in the software update process it takes a bit of time to finish step 3.

    Here is the one I used,
    http://www.droidhive.com/forums/ind...zound-gets-new-ics-leak-brings-bug-fixes-r133
     
Search tags for this page

3.11.605

,

3.11.605 radios rezoind

,

htc one 3.11.605

,

whats latest ips or ics?