What's next after I root? Lots of questions

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by otter34, Jun 15, 2010.

  1. otter34
    Offline

    otter34 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am most interested in rooting my droid to speed things up. I plan to follow the steps in this link:

    Guide to Rooting Android 2.1 on a Motorola Droid | Droid Life: A Droid Community Blog

    However, once I root what's next? I think the next step is installing a custom rom, however are all the kinks with froyo worked out? I know there were some issues w/ bugless beast froyo. What do you suggest I install, 2.1 or 2.2?

    If I decide to go w/ 2.2 then I will install flash 10.1

    What's the difference between a ROM and a kernal? Do I select a custom ROM, then pick a kernal, whether it's 800mhz, 900mhz, 1Ghz? By selecting one of these kernals is that what's meant by overclocking? How do I make sure things don't run too hot?

    What theme would you suggest selecting?

    What's the talk about basebands? Do I need to select a baseband too?

    If, after I root I have to reprogram the phone of course I don't want to call verizon. I read that I could do the following:

    Go into Settings -> About Phone -> Status and check if your MIN and/or phone number are 0000... ones. In any case if it doesn't match your phone number, dial ##7764726, enter 000000 at the password prompt and set your MIN and MDN to your 10-digit phone number. Phone will reboot, dial the *228, then either use 1 or 2 to re-activate.

    Could I also use this trick: Tip: How to Bypass Android Activation Screen on Motorola Droid | Droid Life: A Droid Community Blog

    then do I dial *228, select option 1 and go from there?

    Will either of these 2 work?

    Thanks in advance. I'm going to be rooting very soon and I appreciate all the help w/ these questions.
  2. mrgoochio
    Offline

    mrgoochio New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    +1. Phones arriving tomorrow and I've been looking into all the same stuff.
  3. kenbaker0011
    Offline

    kenbaker0011 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    fairly new answers some of the questions

    I am fairly new myself. First, if you are going to root, be ready to dig into these forums and other areas. You have to be interested in working on your droid.

    The guide that you listed on droid-life.com worked well for me.

    You can go with the stock rom (rooted), or look at others. I use the BB Froyo V0.1, without significant problems. A lot of noise on the forums that does not seem to be a problem for me. There are other good ROMs out there, though. Be ready to experiment.

    Once you are rooted, get ROM manager installed. It helps changing ROMs.

    Very basically (experienced people, do not flame me), the kernel (with an e) is the core controlling software for the operating system. Handles the task switching, memory management, etc. Also handles clock control on the droid. The ROM is all the other software that goes with making the droid work well (kind of like basic level #2).

    You pick your kernel by selecting voltage, top-end speed. There is a very good thread on overclocking at http://www.droidforums.net/forum/hacking-faqs/47871-overclocking-101-a.html. A lot of good kernels out there. Once you have installed ROM, installed kernel, install SetCPU to set the top end speed, profiles, etc. The same thread above has info on SetCPU.

    Activiation, honestly I do not remember what I did. follow the droid-life link I do not remember any problems.
  4. supremekizzle
    Offline

    supremekizzle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am by no means an expert but you have pretty much nailed it on the head about rooting. Your kernel is for overclocking. You'll want setcpu in order to adjust your mhz/ghz level. I'm running the beast froyo without any problems so I don't know why you have heard bad things. The baseband is suppose to bring your phone up to speed with verizons towers. I personally, and this is just me speaking, have had worse reception anytime after updating the baseband but it is your choice. I don't see a need to bypass the reactivation at all. I seriously doubt you can get in trouble from verizon for reactivating your phone. I have done it numerous times without any ill effects. That is about the extent of my knowledge when it comes to this stuff so good luck! Oh and by the way be warned... once you root you will never want to own a stock droid again!!!
  5. otter34
    Offline

    otter34 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks very much. I'll check out the overclocking thread
  6. otter34
    Offline

    otter34 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks. So instead of installing a baseband I can just dial *228 and select option 2 to update roaming?

    I didn't want to bypass the activation if I had to reactivate. I was just worried that I might have to reactivate and wanted to do that w/out involving verizon.
  7. MyDroid23
    Offline

    MyDroid23 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago

    FYI you have to reactivate every time you switch roms. Verizon will never know that you are activating a rooted droid.
  8. otter34
    Offline

    otter34 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    [/quote]FYI you have to reactivate every time you switch roms. Verizon will never know that you are activating a rooted droid.[/QUOTE]

    Ahhhhh, thanks! Do I have to call them to reactivate? Or do I just dial *228 or do just bypass the droid screen, then dial *228 and press 1?
  9. dlwhtrose
    Offline

    dlwhtrose DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    FYI you have to reactivate every time you switch roms. Verizon will never know that you are activating a rooted droid.[/QUOTE]

    Ahhhhh, thanks! Do I have to call them to reactivate? Or do I just dial *228 or do just bypass the droid screen, then dial *228 and press 1?[/QUOTE]


    Yes, if when you reboot your phone after rooting you are asked to activate your phone, then click on activate (it automatically calls *228 for you) and press option 1. It is all automated and verizon will not know that you rooted your phone. I have rooted several phones and just about all the time when I flash a new ROM I am prompted to activate. So if verizon did know, I would be busted. LOL

    Also, you asked earlier how to revert back to stock should you need to take the phone into verizon. Here is a good guide to follow not only for rooting but to unroot.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/hacking-faqs/39254-sbf-root-unroot.html

    Good luck. If you need some help, pm me and I would be happy to help you.
  10. brando56894
    Offline

    brando56894 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    All those long instructions that you typed up in your original post are completely unnecessary, once the phone reboots it will bring you to the activation screen just as it did when you originally got the phone. You can try the bypass trick but I found that if you do that it wont restore any of your previously downloaded apps.

    What KenBaker said about the kernel vs rom is pretty much correct. Think of the kernel as the brain of the OS (deals with memory/cpu control and acts as an interface between hardware and software) and the rom as the body of the OS.
  11. otter34
    Offline

    otter34 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Once I decide on a custom ROM to install, will I have to select a speed for it to run at or does it automatically run at a certain speed?
  12. mrgoochio
    Offline

    mrgoochio New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is 2.1-update1 still considered stock 2.1? My phone came pre-loaded with 2.1-update1 from the factory it seems. I just got my phone yesterday. I am reading over the guide in the original post :)

    edit: got my answer, thanks
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2010
  13. otter34
    Offline

    otter34 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After reading and understanding, well, some things I started the process below:
    Guide to Rooting Android 2.1 on a Motorola Droid | Droid Life: A Droid Community Blog

    I have a problem right away. I download rsdlite, but how do I install it? It saves the file or program to my desktop, but it's not a .exe file. It's a RAR file, opens w/ unknown application. Waht's next?


    I have Win XP, service pack 3 and I downloaded the 32 bit drivers as well as motorola drivers. One thing w/ the motorola drivers is that is prompted me to install the chinese language pack and insert my XP CD. Is that necessary? I was prompted by the motorola installation that it was completed successfully, so I canceled the pop up which prompted me to insert the CD. Do I have to insert WinXP CD and install this language pack?
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2010
  14. otter34
    Offline

    otter34 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK I just installed sprecovery...a little nervous for some reason, but hey it's my first time! Which ROM would you suggest installing? Should I backup my information again before installing a ROMd? Should I use titanium backup or am I not ready for that yet since I'm not rooted? I backed everything up with Astro
  15. Johnly
    Online

    Johnly Guest

    If you rooted your phone, then have fun running all the sick fresh Roms out:) that will take some time.....
  16. otter34
    Offline

    otter34 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Actually I am just about to install a ROM. Have you tried the latest version of BB? Do I have to install a 2.1 rom first or can I go right to Froyo?
  17. otter34
    Offline

    otter34 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ah what the hell? I clicked on allow update.zip installation, then clicked on ok to install /sdcard/update.zip (depreciated)

    It says install from sd card...
    finding update package
    opening update package
    verifying
    e:can't open /sdcard/update.zip
    (no such file or directory)
    installation aborted

    OK now what do I do?!! I made sure it was in the root of my F: drive on the computer, which is what my phone is. Give me a step by step on how to get out of here and what to do please!
  18. Johnly
    Online

    Johnly Guest

    Make sure you don't' add the .zip, windows does that already! Make sure and clear all other update files too:)
  19. otter34
    Offline

    otter34 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have winxp. I renamed it to update.zip so I guess that was wrong. Is it safe to turn my phone off, change the name to just, "update" and then do this again?
  20. mrgoochio
    Offline

    mrgoochio New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    if youre adding .zip, make sure you have show known file extensions on.. if not, your file may be update.zip.zip which won't work.
Search tags for this page
after rooting flame 2.0 what next?
,

after rooting samsung galaxy y whats next

,
once cuttings have rooted whats next step
,

once i root android samsung galaxy. whats the next syep?

,

reactivate phone after root

,

rooted galaxy s3 whats next

,

samsung galaxy y root whats next

,

what next after phone get rooted

,

what next after root

,

what to do after root galaxy tab

,

what to do after rooting a galaxy tab

,

what to do after rooting galaxy tab t-849