What's better for battery life global or cdma?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by justin482005, Oct 25, 2011.

  1. justin482005

    justin482005 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I read a post that cdma is better for the battery but I noticed that when I switched the network that my phone idle and standby usage increased by 13% and when I put it back to global the usage when back down to 6% phone idle and like 5 to 6 % phone standby ......so the question is has anyone played around with this ....


    Also when you roaming when you choose to use the data for better signal do you really see additional charges?

    Sent from my DROID3
     
    #1 justin482005, Oct 25, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2011
  2. TyrannoTaurus

    TyrannoTaurus Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Northern IL
    Ratings:
    +0
    Verizon's network is CDMA only, so just select CDMA rather than Global for a little battery savings. You'll only need GSM if you travel outside the US.
     
  3. akhi216

    akhi216 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Same problem here. I decided to just keep it on Global. The funny thing is that I'm getting better battery life with the phone on Global contrary to what everyone says.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  4. Fr33dom

    Fr33dom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    It does sound counterintuitive, more radios running should cost you more battery. I haven't tested it since the before update, but my standby and idle are at 10% and 13% with the SIM card pulled, so your 40% seems quite high.
     
    #4 Fr33dom, Oct 26, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2011
  5. akhi216

    akhi216 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    When you go over a certain amount of MB of data while roaming, you will have to pay overage fees.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  6. justin482005

    justin482005 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The same deal

    Sent from my DROID3
     
  7. justin482005

    justin482005 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I put that mistake sorry .....mine was running about the same

    Sent from my DROID3
     
  8. Fr33dom

    Fr33dom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    I'll see if I can confirm your results. I suppose its possible that the update addressed some things that actually make the global radio better. I had read somewhere that ones cdma signal would be stronger with the global radio enabled so I suppose that could account for the better battery in certain circumstances.
     
  9. KZ_259

    KZ_259 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    burlington, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    how could you turn off the global network?
     
  10. justin482005

    justin482005 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea that's what I was thinking however according to the phone radios was taking up a decent amount of usage

    Sent from my DROID3
     
  11. akhi216

    akhi216 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Settings>Wireless & Networks>Mobile networks>Network>CDMA, GSM/UMTS.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
    #11 akhi216, Oct 27, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2011
  12. akhi216

    akhi216 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    When I had my D3 only CDMA, my battery would drain faster. FWIW, when I put it on Global I get better battery life, and I do keep the Verizon sim card in. I haven't cared to test it on Global with the sim card pulled although I don't know if it makes a difference since I never leave the US.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
    #12 akhi216, Oct 27, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2011
Search tags for this page
better battery life gsm or cdma
,
better for battery global or cdma
,
cdma or global droid battery life
,

cdma vs global

,
droid cdma battery
,
global vs cdma
,
global vs cdma vs gsm droid3
,
is the gsm s3 batterey better then than the cdma s3
,
what waste more battery global or cdma