1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Whatapp Question

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by rsandre, Dec 8, 2011.

  1. rsandre
    Offline

    rsandre New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey guys, got a situational question about Whatsapp

    I am living in Spain at the moment and brought my Motorola Droid, first generation. Obviously, I cannot call anybody or text anybody over here as my service does not function in Spain.

    BUT, my wifi does and so I was wondering if I am capable of using Whatsapp here in Spain (similar to how I am able to use Heytell successfully)?

    If so, when I sign up, should I enter my country as Spain or as the United States?

    Do I NEED to be in the USA where my service functions for this to work?

    Gracias
  2. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
  3. rsandre
    Offline

    rsandre New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the info Bayou. But do you know if I need to be in the USA to sign up initially? After I gave them my # and chose USA as my country, I was informed of an SMS that was going to be sent to me verifying the #. Being in Spain, I will not be able to receive the SMS. That being said, is there no way I can use Whatsapp until I sign up while I am able to receive the SMS?

    Thanks
  4. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    I would recommend that you contact the Developer directly and ask those questions of them. I personally had never even heard of the app until you asked the question. Sorry and hope you find a solution. I'm sure there is one out there.

    Good luck.
  5. dave52355
    Offline

    dave52355 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use it on my tablet that has no #. I believe you can get an email of the code they send you. Been awhile since I set it up.
  6. cjv1982
    Offline

    cjv1982 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have some family in Madrid and they use it no problem, I assume they used there location because it's hooked up to there personal cell phones

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
Search tags for this page

at what whatapp you what can i have you wait time does not s

,

best situational questions for whatsapp