What to do with Droid X on it's first boot?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by omnicious, Jul 23, 2010.

  1. omnicious

    omnicious Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok so I just got my Droid X. Anyone wanna list what I should do first and foremost to maximize presence? OTA, drain the battery, root, etc. Is it really true you should charge all the way before using the phone? And also what are some things I should check off right off the bat to make sure I don't have to return it. Stuck pixels, camera problems, wifi, etc.
     
  2. woosung

    woosung Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    good questions! I am getting my droid x soon and i would like to know as well!
     
  3. Elkay

    Elkay Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Root! Haha
     
  4. omnicious

    omnicious Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was kinda hoping to hold off on root till Froyo...
     
  5. woosung

    woosung Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Agreed! I'm not sure if the Droid X can be rooted yet.
     
  6. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,262
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    It's already been rooted.
     
  7. woosung

    woosung Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh sweet! that was quick! Motorola really sucks at trying to stop people from rooting. I thought it would have taken couple weeks because of the eFuse.
     
  8. omnicious

    omnicious Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Should I charge all the way and then discharge and then charge all the way again before actually using it?
     
  9. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,262
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    eFuse has nothing to do with it..
     
  10. woosung

    woosung Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    oh.. I'm new to all this android stuff.
     
  11. omnicious

    omnicious Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I wanted to hold off on root until Froyo just to be safe.
     
  12. Auditor_Kevin

    Auditor_Kevin New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not getting nearly as much battery life as others are reporting here, and I just let my phone trickle charge while I played with it when I first turned it on. So I told Verizon and they're sending me a new battery.

    I intend on doing what you describe above this time. No shenanigans. Charge it all the way, drain it all the way, charge it all the way........then I'll get back to my regulary scheduled messing around with it.
     
  13. tmoney2007

    tmoney2007 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Play with it all you want, just charge it all the way, then drain it all the way down before you trust the battery indicator.
     
  14. zook_b

    zook_b Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The first thing I did was get a different launcher. ADW FTW.

    I don't need a contacts button because when you go to the dialer it has the contacts. Dumb design IMO.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  15. Elkay

    Elkay Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    After finally checking out LauncherPro, I will agree. Rather than having to do all your screens twice, if you want to use a launcher besides the stock one then just get that out of the way.