What the hell is my GPS doing?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by billyk, Mar 4, 2010.

  1. billyk

    billyk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    694
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    For the last hour, GPS has been running, indicated by the icon in the status bar at top.

    I've checked the running services, and there's few running and absolutely nothing that needs GPS.

    Whassup with this?
     
  2. crspang

    crspang Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you have shop savvy?
     
  3. Trooper

    Trooper Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +0
    I always disable my "use GPS satellites" until I need to use them...

    That'll solve the problem.
     
  4. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Do you have your browser on a web page that uses GPS like the Google home page? If so that could be what's going on. Check your battery usage at settings/about phone/battery usage and see if that gives you a clue.
     
  5. Riley

    Riley Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yup mines been doing that the last few days too, and I found Shop Savvy running for no reason, along with another program I can't recall. The only thing I know uses my GPS every 30 minutes is my weather widget. Why is Shop Savvy using it?
     
  6. billyk

    billyk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    694
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Thanks for the input.

    I think I had the Google Search page up in the browser - that'll do it. Thanks Hook.

    Also, the ShopSaavy question is a good one. I had it installed, twice, and I chucked it, twice, just for that reason. A shopping/barcode scanner that needs access to GPS every 30 minutes is just poor software design.
     
  7. KevinJ

    KevinJ Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +0
    I noticed last night - and its still doing it today - that the GPS Status app is about 40 degrees off.

    It's grabbing the satellite signals okay, but the compass directions are wrong. I pulled out my regular "analog" compass, and it is pointing correctly. But the app isn't.

    Anyone got some ideas?
     
  8. gruve

    gruve Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've had that problem this week, it searches the location on the google start page, it was taking 72% of my battery.
     
  9. takeshi

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    There's a thread that explains it somewhere. IIRC, it pre-caches location info.
     
  10. mplspug

    mplspug New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've left the Google home page up over night too, only to find my phone dead in the morning. I make it a habit of killing everything when I am done.

    I have a different GPS issue from time to time. Sometimes if I am in a building when it can't get a signal, but then I go outside and pull up maps or navigation, it just keeps saying searching for GPS Signal and never finds it. I can't figure out if there is a way to 'reset' the GPS by turning it off and back on. What I have to do in these instances is reboot the phone. Anyone else have that issue?
     
  11. billyk

    billyk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    694
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Thanks for the heads-up.

    I had Google as my homepage :icon_eek:
     
  12. mplspug

    mplspug New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have Google as my homepage too and couldn't imagine it being anything else. So for me my choices are to force kill the browser or turn off the GPS integration unless I need it. I do the former. Even if the last page I was on was not Google I kill it, because I think the browser in the back ground might still have something like scripts running that may kill my battery still.
     
Search tags for this page
android gps keeps turning on
,
android why is my gps on
,
my phone keeps saying searching for gps
,
my phone keeps searching for gps
,
phone keeps searching for gps
,
what's using my gps android
,
why does my gps keep turning on
,
why does my phone say searching for gps
,
why is my gps on
,

why is my gps on my droid on