What system does Skype use?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by greyghost04, Jan 6, 2010.

  1. greyghost04

    greyghost04 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    When I use Skype it says," it will now dial xxx-xxx-xxxx to connect". Now, is it dialing on the cellular network or is it dialing on the wifi network. If it's dialing on the cellular network I can't use it outside of the USA as the rest of the world is GSM. If it's dialing on the wifi connection, you could be dialing from almost anywhere in the world for practically free. Does anyone know how this works?
     
  2. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    Its over wifi and data.... should not be using "cellular"....please someone correct me if I am offbase with this...
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2010
  3. fegul

    fegul New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It uses your minutes and isn't "true" VoIP, take a look here: Skype Lite ? for Nokia, Motorola, Samsung and Sony Ericsson phones

    Calling Skype contacts requires minutes so it's placing an actual call somewhere else first. For true VoIP with Skype I'd use Fring. There is some pretty heavy delay in the call though from what I've noticed though.
     
  4. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    Ah...Thanks for clearing that up.
     
Search tags for this page

skype mobile can't connect to your cellular network

,
skype mobile can't connect to your cellular network
,
skype mobile cannot connect to your cellular network