What size of SD card?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by duncan0553, Jul 10, 2012.

  1. duncan0553
    Offline

    duncan0553 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North East Texas
    Does anyone know the max size of Micro SD card to use on the new MaXX. I know that it comes with a 16 GB card but wanted to upgrade it to a 32 GB card, if it will work.
  2. bsweetness
    Offline

    bsweetness Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,501
    Likes Received:
    95
    Trophy Points:
    48
    A 32 GB card will work just fine. Officially, 32GB is the maximum size supported.

    However, I have a 64GB card in mine, and it works great.
  3. duncan0553
    Offline

    duncan0553 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North East Texas
    Ok thanks for the info. Best Buy has a 32 GB micro on sale today for $30. Is there anything special I need to do to change the card out for the larger one. I just moved all my music over to the sd card off the internal storage to save some space. I jsut I need to move it back to internal storage then change out the cards and move it back to the new card?
  4. bsweetness
    Offline

    bsweetness Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,501
    Likes Received:
    95
    Trophy Points:
    48
    That's one way to do it if you have enough internal storage to temporarily hold all of your files. You could transfer everything from the old card to a computer, and then transfer your files from the computer to the new card. Either way will work.
  5. duncan0553
    Offline

    duncan0553 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North East Texas
    Ya the computer way might be quicker. thanks again for you help.
  6. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,331
    Likes Received:
    616
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    Be sure to format any new SD card in the device its going to ve used in BEFORE you install data for optimum performance :)

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
  7. duncan0553
    Offline

    duncan0553 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North East Texas
    how do I format it? I was going to take the old one out and put in my laptop and copy all the music files over to the laptop, then insert new card and transfer the music over to it, then put new card in MaXX. Is there something else I should do?
  8. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,419
    Likes Received:
    205
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
  9. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,331
    Likes Received:
    616
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    To format the card, if its an old card, copy all the files off of it first, then you inset it into the maxx or razr, go into storage, go all the way to the bottom, select unmount, then format.

    When you install the SD card it will automatically mount, so you have to unmount and select format on a new card too.

    BE SURE YOU'RE AT THE BOTTOM OF THE STORAGE SECTION OR YOU WILL BE MESSING WITH THE INTERNAL SD CARD NOT SDCARD-EXT..... AND YOURE GONNA HAVE A BAD TIME!! ;)

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
  10. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,331
    Likes Received:
    616
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    I also run 64's

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
  11. TOMMYBOT
    Offline

    TOMMYBOT Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    32gb and go for a class 4. I don't have the link but tests were done class 4 is the best for phones

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
  12. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,331
    Likes Received:
    616
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    I've heard this too... 6 and up are great for cameras because they have a higher transfer rate.

    But I run 64 gig class 10 scan disk cards.. I like over kill though :D

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
  13. duncan0553
    Offline

    duncan0553 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North East Texas
    Thanks for the info and for saving me some cash, allways a good thing. Lots of time and money saving things on this site. I just ordered it off amazon.
  14. TOMMYBOT
    Offline

    TOMMYBOT Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Lol is there such thing as too much space?
    What do you fill up your 64's with?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
  15. bsweetness
    Offline

    bsweetness Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,501
    Likes Received:
    95
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Nope. As far as I'm concerned, there's never such a thing as too much space when we're talking about storage for a phone, tablet, or computer. I have less than 1GB free on my 64GB card, and I only have that much free because it kept giving me an annoying low volume storage notification. If I had a 128GB card, it would be full too. Mine is filled mostly with music, videos, and a ton of documents.
  16. duncan0553
    Offline

    duncan0553 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North East Texas
    I have a question about "formatting" the new sd card. I copied all the files off the old one and un-mounted it, then removed it from the phone, I inserted the new card into the phone and it mounted. Now when I go into storage I see the new card there with 29.71 GB of space. I don't see anywhere that says anything about "format" the card. Where or what is that and how do I do it?
    Thanks in advance.
  17. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,331
    Likes Received:
    616
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    Unmount it, then format it.

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
  18. duncan0553
    Offline

    duncan0553 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North East Texas
    where is the button that says to format? I can mount and un-mount it but I don't see anything that says anything about formatting it.
  19. duncan0553
    Offline

    duncan0553 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North East Texas
    I see where it says "erase sd card " below un-mount sd card, Is this the same as formating it?
Search tags for this page
droid razr hd sd card size
,
droid razr m sd card size
,
droid razr max sd card size
,

droid razr maxx max sd card size

,
droid razr maxx micro sd capacity
,
droid razr micro sd memory capacity
,

droid razr sd card capacity

,
max sd card for razr maxx
,
maximum capacity micro sd motorola razr maxx
,

maximum size sd card for droid razr maxx

,
motorola razr sd card size
,
razr m micro sd card capacity
,
razr maxx verizon maximum microsd card
,
size of sd card for motorola razr
,
what size sd card for droid razr maxx