1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

What procedures do you have to do to change micro SD card and retain current data?

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S3' started by papat912, Aug 1, 2013.

  1. papat912
    Offline

    papat912 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pembroke, Georgia
    How?
  2. bweN diorD
    Offline

    bweN diorD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,761
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    plug your old sd into a computer (using an adapter), copy the data on it to the computer, remove the old sd and insert the new one to the computer, format to fat32 (if it isnt already), copy the data from your old card onto the new one, remove the new sd from the computer and put it into your phone and boot it up. if all went well, you shouldnt notice anything different (except for speed, if you got a faster sd).
  3. papat912
    Offline

    papat912 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pembroke, Georgia
    This is very strange, that when I copy files from the file on the laptop to the micro SD card the files don't show up on the micro SD card, but when I try to copy them again it ask if I want to replace them and the folder is showing empty. What could be going on?
  4. bweN diorD
    Offline

    bweN diorD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,761
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    i would format it and try to copy the files again.
    i have seen this issue in the past from cheap/fake cards bought from ebay and amazon, other than that, im not sure what the issue could be.
  5. papat912
    Offline

    papat912 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pembroke, Georgia
    I've re-formated several time with the same results.
  6. bweN diorD
    Offline

    bweN diorD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,761
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    i can only suggest that the card is defective. there is no other logical explanation that i know of.
  7. papat912
    Offline

    papat912 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pembroke, Georgia
    Still strange, because not all folders or files do this. That why I'm saying that the new card is not defective.
  8. bweN diorD
    Offline

    bweN diorD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,761
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
  9. papat912
    Offline

    papat912 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pembroke, Georgia
    Thanks for the heads up. After testing my Kington MicroSD card had some bad sectors, so I sent it back.
  10. bweN diorD
    Offline

    bweN diorD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,761
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    no problem :) glad you got it figured out, even if that meant the card was bad :(
  11. papat912
    Offline

    papat912 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pembroke, Georgia
    As I said earlier, I sent the Kingston card back and ordered the SanDisk Ultra 64 MicroSDXC Class 10 UHS-1 Memory Card. After receiving it I tested it as I did the Kingston, and SanDisk had no problems and I copied my 32GB to the 64GB with no problems. Thanks again for the heads up. I can't understand why someone told me to stay away from SanDisk products.
  12. k1ngr4t
    Offline

    k1ngr4t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Glad you were able to sort it out. Just a side note if you have an adapter you can skip a step by plugging it in to the PC with the new card, then hooking up your phone to the PC, and just copying them straight from one SD to the other (instead of copying them to the PC first, then over to the new SD). This is what I usually do and I haven't had any problems yet.
  13. papat912
    Offline

    papat912 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pembroke, Georgia
    Thanks for the tip. I had two adapters so I copied one card straight to the other one, it worked great.
  14. bweN diorD
    Offline

    bweN diorD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,761
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    i have only bought sandisk, and never had an issue, been running 64g ultra chips for over a year.
Search tags for this page
change sd card on samsung galaxy s3
,
change sd card samsung galaxy s3
,
changing micro sd card in samsung galaxy s3
,
how do i change sd card and keep data
,
how to change micro sd card in droid x
,

how to change sd card in galaxy s3

,

how to change sd card in samsung galaxy s3

,
how to replace sd card on android
,
how to transfer data from one micro sd card to another
,

if i change my sd card what happens

,

replace sd card galaxy s3

,
samsung galaxy s3 replace sd card
,

what happens if i change my sd card

,

what happens when i change my sd card

,
what happens when you replace sd card in phone