What makes my D2G so slow?

seventieslord

Reaction score
My D2G started super fast when i bought it, but it's been really unresponsive lately. For example, when I haven't used it in a while and I unlock the screen and try to immediately swipe sideways through launcher pages, it takes a good 5 seconds to respond. Some apps take a while to start, too.

I'm wondering what I could have done to my phone to make it act like this. I don't think that a degradation in performance should just be "expected" over time. This phone should outperform my wife's galaxy, but right now it doesn't even come close.

Here are some potential causes.

- Lots of apps. I think I have around 120 apps in my drawer. I don't think this should be a problem but I am not an expert.

- All apps stored on the phone. I keep all my apps on the phone and not the SD card. I like it better because I think it's "cleaner" and my SD card space is valuable to me. Plus this is a unique phone in how much internal storage it has, so I may as well use it.

- lots of shortcuts on the desktop. I have 21 shortcuts and a folder on my desktop. I don't think that's a big deal... is it?

- Widgets. I know that widgets affect performance and I'm a widget freak. but is this an excessive number of widgets?

- Whiteboard
- facebook
- twitter
- google search
- soundhound
- 3G watchdog
- battery left
- LED flashlight
- appbrain
- two widgetsoid widgets with 8 buttons apiece
- one "android photo widget"

Anything else that could be doing this that I'm not thinking of?

brad92

Silver Member
Reaction score
I would root, backup your stuff using Titanium Backup, then do a data wipe.

CM74DX

Byakushiki

Reaction score
Most likely just too many things running at the same time. It may be "good" to have your memory full, but it has drawbacks, such as extreme slowdowns. Use your task manager. It's not there for nothing. Just don't set it on auto, whatever you do.

The Robot Cow

Reaction score