what is wrong with the GPS?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by tndroid, Dec 21, 2009.

  1. tndroid

    tndroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I see everyone has been talking about how wonderful the Droid GPS is. However, I am kinda pissed off by this Moto Droid GPS... I think the google map is fine, but why this Droid GPS always asks me to take a different (obviously wrong )direction/road in certain areas that I am family with? This area is not new and even my old Garmin Nuvi350 with 2004 map source can show the correct direction. Anyone has an idea? thanks! Merry X-mas!
     
  2. tender82

    tender82 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pittsburgh and Johnstown
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ya. Mine does the same. It eventually gets me there, but it's not the most direct or easiest route. I'm not sure what it's thinking.

    Sorry I can't help you more.
     
  3. REARless

    REARless Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    I probably depends on where you are. I live in PA and I was surprised that the Google Navigation actually finds the "local" routes, (non Interstates). more than my Garmin Nuvi did.
     
  4. tender82

    tender82 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pittsburgh and Johnstown
    Ratings:
    +0
    I live in PA, too. It was finding local routes, but I didn't think the local route it was giving me was that good. It was really odd.

    Oh, and on a side note, I was driving through Butler and it wanted me to take the exit towards 'Butter.' I found this hilarious!
     
  5. 640k

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    It must have something to do with it being beta, working with maps.google and translating it into a google navigation.. something something...

    the same thing happened to me recently, where it wanted to take me past the destination (the long way around). when i turned the "right" (short) way, it tried to revert me back to its directions.

    remember that navigation is still in beta, and the first time that you start it up, the agreement clearly states that not all directions may be accurate.
     
  6. Geofferson

    Geofferson Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sometimes I am unable to get the GPS signal. It says, "locating GPS" or something like that. Also, during navigation I will lose the GPS signal sometimes. I live in the city too...
     
  7. tndroid

    tndroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just tried to get directions from maps.google.com, which are exactly the same as I got from this Moto Droid GPS. I tried mapquest, obviously, it gives me the correct routes which are the same as what i can get via my old Garmin... Therefore, I assume it is not a problem from satellite signal. How come the so-said "amazing google map" can not beat mapquest for this specific area?
     
  8. GadgetRick

    GadgetRick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Pretty much ALL Google software is beta. Sorry, everyone wants to give them a pass for this. Gmail has been a beta version since it was released YEARS ago.

    Not to mention they use this as a MAJOR selling point for the phone and their OS.

    They have issues with their mapping algorithms. They have for years. They need to fix them. They have not for years.

    With that said, I love my Droid and I love Maps. Just wish they'd fix it.
     
  9. Steve H

    Steve H Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Southern Utah
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have not found a nav gps that is correct where I live. We have tried GM (OnStar), TomTom, Garmin and Google. NONE of them are correct. I have been told that there are only two companies in the U.S. and they supply the mapping info to all the GPS companies. They both have my area (Southern Utah) wrong.
     
  10. 640k

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    navteq is the #1 supplier of gps mapping.
     
  11. cereal killer

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,173
    Likes Received:
    915
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +933
    Current Phone Model:
    Nokia Lumia Icon
    I live in Los Angeles and the GPS has been stellar. I'm not sure what causes the discrepancies in different areas of the country.

    Some people swear by it others (such as yourself) have some issues.

    It's free though so I wouldn't complain too much : )
     
  12. Johnly

    Johnly Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine has worked flawlessly, and I have used it for about 200 mile so far. D-town. Just hit the map button before you navigate sillies. Then you can actually see it the route works for ya....cool.
     
  13. MrBaz

    MrBaz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Colorado
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't use it a ton, but it works better than my $500 Mio standalone Nav system.
     
  14. isitkiller

    isitkiller Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Exactly, mine did the same. It does this on the exit for my home.
    It shows previous exit. Then I continue to go on the next exit
    and it recalculates to take me back on the highway, showing
    wrong exit.

    It only corrects it if I choose "alternate route".
    Pretty stupid! I handle this since it is near my house
    but if I am going some place, I'm sure it will make me
    go round and round.
     
  15. jcrusor

    jcrusor New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Today was the first I had an issue with the Nav app. It took a long time to find me on the map and then it lost signal several times before my destination. I am sure they will fix this in the near future. I won't complain too much since it is a free app and better than the iphone apps on their first try.
     
Search tags for this page
android phones give wrong directions
,

garmin gives wrong directions

,

garmin gps gives wrong directions

,
garmin s4 has wrong time
,
gps sometimes gives wrong location
,
mtorolla droid mac giving wrong location on map
,
phone gps giving wrong location
,
what is wrong with google maps gps
,
whats wrong with google maps on droid 2
,
why does my phone give me wrong gps location