What is the best baseband?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by bentobox, Jun 12, 2010.

  1. bentobox

    bentobox New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is directed to those who have tried all the basebands, and which one do you think is the best baseband? i know theres like 3 or 4 of them out there now.
     
  2. jroc

    jroc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,843
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +63
    I havent tested them all against each other, but one of the recent ones ending in .00R agrees with my phone. Faster 3G speeds, a lil better reception at my desk at work. Normally its 1x or nothing, now 3G tries to rear its head every now n then.
     
  3. les017

    les017 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    For MY Droid the first leaked Froyo baseband is by far the best...C014100R. I now have better 3G speed, more solid connectivity. This its the first baseband that gives me be better than -90 signal, and it's consistently near-82 or better.

    But you'll need to experiment to see what's best on your phone, in your area.
     
  4. k1ng617

    k1ng617 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    so is the higher the number the better? Meaning -60 is better than -70? Because, I am at "-60dbm 0asu" whatever that means =)

    BTW using: "c_01.3E.03P"
     
  5. ilikemoneygreen

    ilikemoneygreen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    AZ, Superstition MTNs!
    Ratings:
    +15
    i wouldnt know if higher is better, but i cant say for the last few days my connectivity has sucked.... I have switched roms out like candy lately. I had bb1.1 but i switched it for 1st froyo leak... switched back to bb1.1 then switched to bb v0.1 then switched back to cycogenmod for a quick looksy, then back to 0.1. lol, at the moment my baseband sucks, fustrating me kinda (im traveling, at a house in wellston ohio and cant tell if its my baseband or just a bad connection) :(
     
  6. validoption

    validoption Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Correct. -60 would be better.
     
  7. xtremecanefan

    xtremecanefan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    Most recent on released is working for me...I am usually barely able to keep signal in my parents house, so bad I sometimes can't get a text off. Today while there I was getting 2-3 bars and had 3G in certain areas.
     
  8. Johnly

    Johnly Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    The latest froyo base band is the best. Fast, yes it is, fast, clear, yes it is clear, official, as close as it comes, it came from, yoda.....after pete!
     
  9. k1ng617

    k1ng617 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If i were to change to Bugless Beast v01 does that change baseband? Also does nandroid backup save the baseband, so if I mess something up by installing a new one can I just use nandroid and go back to that previous state?
     
  10. jroc

    jroc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,843
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +63
    No backups keeps the previous baseband once u change basebands. The basebands are seperate from the ROMs.
     
  11. k1ng617

    k1ng617 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    K thanks. Then I am less worried about swapping roms now then. Do most ppl use Rom Manager?
     
  12. validoption

    validoption Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use RM because you don't need to rename every .zip "update" and that means you can apply multiple .zips in one session. Like ROM, theme, add-ons if needed, and kernel, all in one go. Plus it provides the option to swap to SBR if needed, like with Chevy's ROM that is only- last I checked- in SBR nandroid format, and then back again.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  13. Predator04

    Predator04 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can someone be kind to tell me exactly what a baseband is? is it the same as calling *288 and doing option 2? or is that totally different?
     
  14. jroc

    jroc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,843
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +63
    A baseband is the software for the 3G chip in your phone. It normally gets changed when there is a system update: 2.0.1, 2.1, Froyo/2.2.

    After u change basebands, u will have to re-activate your phone by doing *228 , but u do option 1 first. After u re-activate the phone, then u go back and do option 2.
     
  15. Predator04

    Predator04 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    sweet thanks alot for that information!
     
Search tags for this page

android best baseband

,

baseband android

,

best android baseband

,
best baseband android philippines
,

best baseband for android

,
best baseband for s4
,
how to know if a baseband version works on other basebands for android
,
what is a good signal strength dbm and asu
,
what is basebrand aandroid
,
what's a baseband