what is stopping someone from making htc sense apps run on droid?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by tktouch12, Jun 21, 2010.

  1. tktouch12
    Offline

    tktouch12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i really like the sense apps. so, i was wondering what is so difficult about taking the sense apk's and making little changes to port them over to the droid? i dont know about this stuff, but it seems like it shouldnt be too hard. if we got a majority of them ported then we could load them up into a custom rom and boom. have people tried? what is ultimately stopping this from working?
    i know the devs are really smart, so i dont understand why they couldnt make the necessary changes to them to make them work on drod. (no disrespect. you guys are brillant and seeing what u've done, i think you devs could do anything)

    i would pay if someone got most sense apps to work on droid.
  2. stanrc
    Offline

    stanrc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well from a legal stand point you can't, because I'm pretty sure Sense UI (and its widgets) are not open source like the base android is.
  3. tktouch12
    Offline

    tktouch12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Let me clarify, I understand how difficult it can be to port apps to other phones. So instead I think they could try rebuilding the app from copying the sense app. Use the same code and images, but rebuild it so it would work on a droid, then put all the new apk's into a system image in a rom.
    I don't know about this stuff, like I said, but is there a reason what I just described wouldn't work?
  4. tktouch12
    Offline

    tktouch12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, I think that is true, but zeusdroid tried to port the entire rom over, so what would htc do?
  5. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gotta love statements like that. Famous last words. Everything looks easy when you're not aware of the details. :p
  6. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    HTC

    (crap, my intentionally terse response is foiled by the 10 character minimum message length...)
  7. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,544
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Because it just doesn't make any sense.:rofl3::rofl3::rofl3:

    Stop it. If i didn't say it someone else would of.;)
  8. tktouch12
    Offline

    tktouch12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Lol. No. I'm sure it would be terribly dificult, but the devs have done such amazing things I believe they could do it unless there is some strange problem.
  9. mcapozzi
    Offline

    mcapozzi New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool, NY
    Unlike the core Android components, HTC does not release the source code of their proprietary software. So figuring out what to change would be more impossible than difficult.

    This isn't in the same category as building a kernel from source or swapping out some PNGs in an APK so the app will match a theme.

    It would be easier to build the app from scratch than to reverse engineer someone else's code and hack it together to work outside of Sense.

    -Mike
  10. tktouch12
    Offline

    tktouch12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok. That makes sense. So the only real way anyone could do this wold be to start from stratch? But then could someone fairly easily make apps that work exactly like the sense apps by looking at the sense apk's? And couldn't they even use the sense pngs to make it look the same? Would that be more doable? Because they have the sense apps to use as a guide.

    Or maybe its just not realistic.
  11. mike919
    Offline

    mike919 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Erie, PA

    Well said... The source code for HTC thats tied into the system is completely different than that of the droid. to get a app/widget running on the droid from HTC takes days worth of work.

    I mean just look at ZD team... they busted their @sses for months on the ROM port, and still have trouble spots with something as "simple" as weather widgets... Its just not goin to happen..
  12. mcapozzi
    Offline

    mcapozzi New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool, NY
    People have made Sense-like widgets, one is called Beautiful Widgets, and the other is FancyWidget.

    HTC has sent their legal teams after both of them.

    What widget are you looking to replicate? Chances are someone has already developed a clone of what you are looking for.

    -Mike
  13. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not realistic is an understatement. HTC has intellectual property to protect, so any app that decides they want to exactly mimic HTC Sense will most likely be receiving a C&D from HTC.

    There's no technical reason why somebody couldn't make an app that works like Sense, it just wouldn't be a good idea to put all that work in just to get squashed by HTC.

    Didn't somebody try this with a clock widget? Beautiful Widgets, maybe? They got strongarmed into changing their appearance to keep HTC happy, IIRC.
  14. mike919
    Offline

    mike919 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Erie, PA
    Weather and Toggle i believe it was... They had the wiper blades in the rain and everything... pretty sure they got the C&D order...
  15. clucernoni
    Offline

    clucernoni New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Besides the fact that HTC would not allow it, and have in the past not allowed stuff like this to stay out there...there is the fact that an apk isn't a good guide like you think it is. It's not as if you can just open it up in a code editor and see how it works, these things are compiled. So you would literally have to work backwards to get the code..which would be very very time consuming. You might as well write your own app that does what the HTC one does but using your own code...it would probably take less time.
Search tags for this page

android weather app wiper blade

,
how to port sense apps
,

htc weather clock widget squashed

,
incredible 2 weather app apk htc sense